Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Knocking Sound From Transmission When Stopped In Drive And Revers (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/knocking-sound-from-transmission-when-stopped-in-drive-and-revers-30517.html)

SiLlYcHeEsEmAn 11-02-2011 10:17 PM

Knocking Sound From Transmission When Stopped In Drive And Revers

Hi all,

I am new to Jeep. Just picked up a 2012 GC Laredo X three weeks ago. I have noticed that when I am driving and I come to a stop, I hear a knocking noise coming from somewhere in front of the car. It sounds like it may be around the transmission area. At times it is very low, but at other times it gets a little loud. It only happens if I am in gear but am at a complete stop. I hear it in drive and reverse, but not in neutral or park. It doesn't always happen, and if it does and I switch to neutral and back to drive it stops. I brought it in to the dealership the week I got it and the service manager took a ride with me. When I pointed out the sound to him it was pretty low and he said he knew what it was. He explained that with the V6's this sound is common, and went into explaining the two intakes and two exhausts and how the oil flowing produces this noise. He said it was normal in most of these cars and I had nothing to worry about. If this is the case, I am fine with it, but it just seems strange to me that a brand new car will produce noise like this. As I stated this is my first Jeep, and my first SUV, so I have no experience with these vehicles. Does anybody else hear this noise. Should I be concerned with it? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

77Cherokee 11-03-2011 09:15 AM

Re: Knocking Sound From Transmission When Stopped In Drive And Revers

I don't think flowing oil makes a knocking noise. That is not a normal sound. Time to visit another dealer. ;)

SiLlYcHeEsEmAn 11-03-2011 11:15 AM