Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Another data bus problem (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/another-data-bus-problem-30753.html)

jlgo222 11-07-2011 12:46 PM

Another data bus problem
 
Let's start off with I bough my jeep with this problem. Started off I thought it was a bad SKIM so I sent my PCM off and had the skim removed. Got it back and now the GC I6 runs. However I have never seen my gauges work, several lights light up. Check gauges, fuel low, skim, and MIL all light up. I have dine the self test feature on the gauges (hold down odometer reset button, then switch key to on position), this passes all gauges move. Other info I can't get the key on/off three time to show any codes on my gauges, and with a normal code reader I get no codes, however I did use a ford factory scanner (friends) and it pulled the P1687 - no connection between PCM and MIC (gauges).

Other problems that are intermittent and can be solved by a 1 sec positive battery cable pull are- all happen at same time - OHC Overhead console will show -- instead of any readings, power windows stop working, steering wheel controls die, gauges illuminate, keyless entry and security wont work either.

Two questions now.
What's my problem, vague I know but I've tried almost everything and I'm now starting over.

Does anyone near KY have a DRB-III Scanner??

2005JGC 11-07-2011 02:18 PM

Re: Another data bus problem
 
does the odometer say "no bus" when its freaking out? I have seen some weird no run, no cluster function no bus issues that were actually the pcm... try disconnecting all the connectors at the pcm (battery disconnected) and spray some electrical contact cleaner on the pins and plug em back in... if it works after doing this your problem is likely a loose pin in the pcm... but obviously drive it for a bit and verify it isnt 100% fixed before replacing the pcm because it may just be a connection.

I have heard of water intrusion dripping down onto the bcm on some wj's... never personally seen it but I have heard of it and that can cause some really weird symptoms with water intrusion into a module

jlgo222 11-07-2011 04:41 PM

Re: Another data bus problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 2005JGC (Post 511123)
does the odometer say "no bus" when its freaking out? I have seen some weird no run, no cluster function no bus issues that were actually the pcm... try disconnecting all the connectors at the pcm (battery disconnected) and spray some electrical contact cleaner on the pins and plug em back in... if it works after doing this your problem is likely a loose pin in the pcm... but obviously drive it for a bit and verify it isnt 100% fixed before replacing the pcm because it may just be a connection.

I have heard of water intrusion dripping down onto the bcm on some wj's... never personally seen it but I have heard of it and that can cause some really weird symptoms with water intrusion into a module

I have yet to see it say "No Bus", I've read about it, but mine has displayed that.

Also I have done a lot of cleaning at the PCM pins, and have cleaned the battery terminals also both multiple times.

And I'm about cinvinced it is a BCM issue myself, I can get one at a junk yard but would that help me, I would still have to find a DRB-III or convince a stealership to reprogram my junk yard BCM.

Also has anyone had to pay the dealership to replace a BCM, just wanna know approximate cost $$$$$$

2005JGC 11-07-2011 05:49 PM

Re: Another data bus problem
 
honestly, alot of parts now-a-days at least with chrysler stuff dont really allow swapping... most modules have the vin written to them and throw codes when the vins dont match. There may be no issue, I know for sure I have reprogrammed a PCM in a wj and it allowed me to change the vin, Beyond that I dont have enough experience with swapping junkyard modules to tell you for sure yes or no if it will work without problems or not.

As far as time expect to be quoted at LEAST 1 hour as it is kind of a can of worms unless a tech has done it and knows its a plug and play process... without skim im not sure if you will even need the dealership.

I would love to give your more definitive answers I just dont have any hands on experience having to do this (with a bcm specifically) and dont want to give mis-information.

jlgo222 11-08-2011 11:35 PM

Re: Another data bus problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 2005JGC (Post 511242)
honestly, alot of parts now-a-days at least with chrysler stuff dont really allow swapping... most modules have the vin written to them and throw codes when the vins dont match. There may be no issue, I know for sure I have reprogrammed a PCM in a wj and it allowed me to change the vin, Beyond that I dont have enough experience with swapping junkyard modules to tell you for sure yes or no if it will work without problems or not.

As far as time expect to be quoted at LEAST 1 hour as it is kind of a can of worms unless a tech has done it and knows its a plug and play process... without skim im not sure if you will even need the dealership.

I would love to give your more definitive answers I just dont have any hands on experience having to do this (with a bcm specifically) and dont want to give mis-information.

Yea, misinformation is worse than no information any day :lol:

You say you have reprogrammed a PCM, did you use the DRB, ive read that there are some "over the counter" OBD-II that can read/write VINs, just wondering if they could write it to something like a BCM or only specific to the PCM.

2005JGC 11-09-2011 03:46 AM

Yes, I work for a dealer... It was with a drbIII.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community