Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Removing NAV Restriction (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/removing-nav-restriction-31188.html)

fdnyfish 11-16-2011 08:15 PM

Removing NAV Restriction
 
I am ONLY interested in removing the NAV LOCK while driving.

Is the lockpick my only solution?

PECo 11-16-2011 09:05 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
My wife's old 2005 Infiniti FX35 had a DVD based nav system and the DVD unit was underneath the passenger seat. To disable the nav lock while moving, all you had to do was put a switch on the wire that fed speed data from the DVD unit to the head unit. It was the easiest automobile electronics mod that I've ever done. Somehow, I don't think it'll be so easy with a 730N.

fdnyfish 11-16-2011 09:44 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
Should of mentioned that I have a 430N

1200RT-P 11-17-2011 01:35 AM

Yes, I believe lock pick (and similar devices) is the only workaround.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

brandont 11-17-2011 08:49 AM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
I just picked up my 2012 with 430N - and I can pick from POIs while navigating. The only thing I cannot do is spell something out. Not a big deal to me as I usually only know the address of my destination. Any other stops would be for gas, food, etc.

Is that the way the 2011s are, or have they changed something?

1200RT-P 11-17-2011 11:20 AM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by brandont (Post 516802)
I just picked up my 2012 with 430N - and I can pick from POIs while navigating. The only thing I cannot do is spell something out. Not a big deal to me as I usually only know the address of my destination. Any other stops would be for gas, food, etc.

Is that the way the 2011s are, or have they changed something?

Same way on the 2011's. You can search POI's, but not enter text.

bbjrhome 11-17-2011 12:17 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
We do this on the Fords and GMs quite a bit. It's a very simple Two pole switch $2.73 @ radio ShaQ. You interupt the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor) or (Velocity Speed Sensor) wire. I'm told from a friend over at Mitra the VSS wire on the 2011/12 GC media center units are Navigation wire colors:
Blue/Pink – VSS (Vehicle Speed Sense)
Green/Violet – Reverse
Lt. Green – Parking Brake

Keep in mind they don't use the same language we use here, 430N, 470, RER, RHR, etc.. and Mitra online isn't listing the 2011/12 yet. So... I've asked him to confirm this 100% for me.

Now, I know there a few CHRYSLER/Jeep folks here, could one of you find a way to confirm the color code internally? If you do I will test it and report back.

1200RT-P 11-17-2011 12:35 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
I'm pretty sure they pull speed from nav satellite data, not vehicle speed sensors.

Andrew Klossner 11-17-2011 02:23 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 1200RT-P (Post 516934)
I'm pretty sure they pull speed from nav satellite data, not vehicle speed sensors.

No, they're using the external speed sensor. Lockpick and similar products intercept that signal and change it to "0 mph." That wouldn't work with satellite data, which originates within the head unit.

1200RT-P 11-17-2011 03:12 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew Klossner (Post 516994)
No, they're using the external speed sensor. Lockpick and similar products intercept that signal and change it to "0 mph." That wouldn't work with satellite data, which originates within the head unit.

i was under the impression that nav will show 0MPH in any nav related speed 'quotes'. Is the nav system using vehicle speed data in this or internal satellite data?

ColdCase 11-17-2011 03:49 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
The speed is digital data on the CAN buss, no way to disable/change it with simple switches. Something like the lock pick is the only option, but it does have side effects... like always showing speed = 0.

brandont 11-17-2011 07:18 PM

Re: Removing NAV Restriction
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColdCase (Post 517060)
The speed is digital data on the CAN buss, no way to disable/change it with simple switches. Something like the lock pick is the only option, but it does have side effects... like always showing speed = 0.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1200RT-P (Post 517025)
i was under the impression that nav will show 0MPH in any nav related speed 'quotes'. Is the nav system using vehicle speed data in this or internal satellite data?

Interesting. Being that the interface is Garmin (at least the 430N) and most all Garmins display speed readings (obviously from GPS) I am surprised the readout is not GPS based. I thought I would be able to check my speedometer versus the GPS readings, but I guess not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community