Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   HomeLink issues with the gate in my community (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/homelink-issues-with-the-gate-in-my-community-31841.html)

joshh 11-30-2011 09:06 AM

HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
I'm having trouble using the HomeLink in my GC for the gate to get into my neighborhood. I closely followed the instructions from the owner's manual and from the HomeLink website (homelink.com) which were slightly different. It seems to program just fine. Judging by the instructions and from what other people have described when they have a more modern garage door opener there is no "learning" necessary for the gate. Instead, the programming seems to occur pretty quickly and easily. However, when I go to use it at the gate it only works maybe half of the time. I press the button and the little light comes on (stays solid while I press the button). But the gate doesn't always open. I have tried clearing the settings (as described in the manual) and programming all three of the buttons thinking that maybe one of the buttons wasn't quite working but I get the same inconsistent behavior. Any idea what is going on here?

I have tried calling HomeLink but they couldn't really help me since I have no idea what the make/model of the gate opener is (the control box at the gate is completely unmarked).

AAAA 11-30-2011 01:28 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
Little red light flashes quickly once pressed when it is programmed correctly. Actually the newer doors have a "learn" button on the motor. On an overhead door, the trick is to press the button, climb down the step ladder and get into the JGC in the driveway within 30 seconds to finish programming.

77Cherokee 11-30-2011 02:31 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
If it works sometimes but not always, it sounds like there is a conflicting signal near the gate which is sometimes blocking the signal from your GC. It could be an alarm or various other types of signals. Ask some of your neighbors if they are experiencing a similar problem.

joshh 11-30-2011 04:59 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
@AAAA - That doesn't sound right. The light is solid for me (again, it works sometimes).

@77Cherokee - Hmm, but then why would the original remote opener work even when still buried in my center console? I obviously need to fall back to my original opener whenever the homelink fails to work and the original works every time.

77Cherokee 11-30-2011 06:01 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
There may be a rolling code in your gate's receiver. That would possibly explain why it only works sometimes. If so, you can try this, which AAAA alluded to above:

Program New Transmitter Setting to Gate Openerís Memory
Some gate openers are programmed with a LEARN REMOTE or
LEARN TRANSMITTER button and some with the ON/OFF switch.
Refer to your Gate Openerís Installation Manual for instructions on

how to program the transmitter to your gate opener.

joshh 11-30-2011 07:18 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
I don't know where the install manual for the gate is. The instructions from homelink suggest that the rolling code is only in use if the light blinks rapidly for two seconds and then turns solid after programming it. This didn't happen for me, the light turned on solid.

I guess I'm going to try to contact my neighborhood's property management company to see if they can provide any additional info about the gate. What a pain...

plynn7 12-03-2011 08:39 AM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
I am having a similar problem with my garage door, sometimes it will open before I turn into the driveway roughly 30' from door to the street. Other times I have to be in the driveway for the door to open. In my 08 JGC I could be half way down the street and the door would open, this was nice because the door would already be open by the time I got there, no waiting. I think maybe on theses new GC's the distance on signal may not be that good.

Jeep_addicted 12-03-2011 02:26 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
I was able to program my homelink to my SEAV gate opener but I noticed that the range is terrible I have to be right in front of the gate to open or close it so to me it is useless.

BobsWK2 12-03-2011 08:12 PM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
The Homelink works great for my entrance gate and garage door. By the time I get to either, they are fully open.

fumblefingers1 08-09-2013 09:39 AM

Re: HomeLink issues with the gate in my community
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BobsWK2 (Post 526812)
The Homelink works great for my entrance gate and garage door. By the time I get to either, they are fully open.

I have 2 gates (a single and a double Mighty Mule 502) which open at a distance with their own openers but the Homelink signal is so weak I must be very close to the gate to get a response. The Homelink programmed with no problem but the performance is miserable. My old GC worked fine but Homelink is very poor in my new 2014 ride. Does anyone know if the range can be increased?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community