Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Anyone ever put weight in the back of their WK for winter driving? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/anyone-ever-put-weight-in-the-back-of-their-wk-for-winter-driving-31924.html)

Sorrel'sWK 12-02-2011 10:44 AM

Anyone ever put weight in the back of their WK for winter driving?

The hubby thinks I need to put some weight in the back of my WK for driving this winter. I am in North Dakota so ice and snow are a very good bet. I'm a decent driver but the husband is concerned. Truthfully, I'm a better driver than he is. :D

Jeep92 12-02-2011 11:16 AM

In my opinion, I don't think it's necessary. But i would definitely invest on some good winter tires.

Scottina06 12-02-2011 11:17 AM

Re: Anyone ever put weight in the back of their WK for winter driving?

if its RWD....Ive seen people do that....but a fulltime awd? I see you have a 4.7....so you either have the QT2 or QD2 4wd systems. I think added weight will just affect your gas mileage before helping with traction

Sorrel'sWK 12-02-2011 11:27 AM

Scott, that is what I thought as well. Hubby just wanted me to look into it. I just put Cooper AT3 tires on it, snow shouldn't give me any trouble, but I have already found that glassy ice can. ;) I came up a hill in town not anticipating it and went "wheeeeeeeee"...LOL. Early in the morning and no cars around, so I had fun with it. Might help if I start slowing down a bit as well.:D

Scottina06 12-02-2011 11:29 AM

yep...ice is trouble for anything

Crashtown 12-02-2011 11:46 AM

No weight needed, QDI or QDII. My brother and I each have WK's and we cruise up and down snow/ice covered mountains all winter.

B.P.O.D 12-02-2011 12:30 PM

unless you have chains or studded tires ICE is something you have to be very careful with:(

2005JGC 12-02-2011 01:07 PM