Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Interior/Exterior/Visual (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/)
-   -   Custom roof rack and need some opinions (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/custom-roof-rack-and-need-some-opinions-32314.html)

Dterry2708 12-09-2011 02:48 PM

Custom roof rack and need some opinions

1 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,

I've been lurking around the forums for a while now but have not posted much. I decided I need a roof rack. Sense I am a mechanical engineering student, I started designing using software but I could definitively use some of knowledge on this board. Also, most if not all of you, have their own opinions on what they would call their "ideal" rack and/or reasons why aftermarket racks are great or terrible. My requirements are fairly simple:

- Open basket type
- 65-70 inches long (To carry snowboards)
- Looks nice and professional
- Not overly bulky
- Cannot carry spare tire sense I need the room for the snowboards

This is what I have so far. I plan on using 1” O.D. 16 gauge (Same as the Gobi rack). The height in the back is 6” and steps down to 4” in the front. I plan on it being 45” wide and 70” long. I plan on adding light brackets for the front and possibly some for the back as well. Should weigh around 35lbs or so.
Any opinions and thoughts would be greatly appreciated. This semester is almost over and I should start building next weekend when I go home for break. I can provide any dimensions that you may need.

Thanks everyone,
Dylan Terry

BlackedOutWK 12-09-2011 06:09 PM

Re: Custom roof rack and need some opinions

looks very nice! i would be interested in buying one if youre looking to make more than one and assuming i can afford the cost! lol.

my only suggestion would be to keep it nice and low profile...as tight to the roof as possible!

BlackedOutWK 12-09-2011 06:10 PM

oh i forgot to mention that the snowboard part is a huge added bonus! i like you're thinking there.