Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/can-dealership-tell-if-ecu-has-been-flashed-32596.html)

jkt009 12-14-2011 10:20 PM

Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
Hey all

So I really want the DS predator for christmas but I have a warranty on the jeep and i dont want the dealership to deny any service I might need because I have a tune. My question is if I set the jeep back to factory settings before I take it to the dealership can they tell that the ecu has been flashed? I have a 2005 GC. I have read that on some cars they can tell how many times the ecu has been flashed and compare that to how many times the dealership has flashed it and if those dont match then that could equal problems. Is tis true? Any help would be great

Thanks

BigTicket13 12-14-2011 11:12 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
You are able to return the original tune to the vehicle before taking the vehicle into service. SO to my knowledge on jeeps you are unable to tell that the ECU has been flashed. If I am correct (someone correct me if I am wrong) if you disconnect your battery it flashes your ECM as well so. They really would have no legitimate argument behind if they did say catch you. Which they won't.

Also the vehicle is out of warranty unless you purchased and extended warranty when you purchased the vehicle used.

robpp 12-15-2011 11:01 AM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
not true on wk......flash away/

jeepgcoman 12-16-2011 06:01 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
Each CALID Flash File is numbered, and they can tell if it has been updated from the original. I.E. my original PCM flash on my WK was 56044762AF and the DS upgraded it to 556044762AJ, and the TCM went from (I believe) 56044757AE to 56044757AG. It should not cause an issue with the dealer though, regardless of who did the update, as they (DS) are using the stock DCX flash files. They might have an issue if you took it in with the tune installed, but the problem there would be if they reflashed over your tune. Then you'd get to spend ~$100 or so to get your DS reset, as it would no longer work. Also, disconnecting the battery does not reflash the PCM/TCM. It just resets all the adaptives back to their original (I call it neutral) position. As you drive, it relearns your style and and makes subtle adjustments. So, like robpp said, I'd flash away.

Bleeding Blue 12-16-2011 07:18 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
How long do you have to leave battery disconnected to bring everything back to "neutral?" Also, do our Jeeps PCM's need updated on the regular? Mine is an 05 and to my knowledge has not been updated...sorry for the thread jack

ChrisWk 12-16-2011 11:22 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
I got a ds and flashed my 05 to the latest dcx file , my 05 has never been flash it had the factory flash on it. You have to have the latest dcx flash for the ds to work.

FlyinRyan 12-17-2011 03:15 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
I wouldbt worry about it, just flash it to stock fpr dealer visits.

jeepgcoman 12-17-2011 11:03 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
To reset, the battery only needs to be disconnected for a minute or so. The PCM/TCM's do not need to be updated routinely. Once done to the most current you'll probably never have to do it again. Most of the updates are done in response to TSB's, glitches, or minor problems or driveability issues of sizeable magnitude. Most updates are usually done within about the first year or two of manufacture. The latest update on my 06 was made in 06. I didn't install it until I bought it in Oct. 09, and it still had the original loaded. Next time I buy a used (sorry....previously owned) anything, I'll make sure any PCM/TCM updates and TSB's/Recalls are accomplished before I take possession. Didn't even think about it when I bought mine, even though I knew about possible updates.

Bleeding Blue 12-18-2011 02:29 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeepgcoman (Post 535877)
To reset, the battery only needs to be disconnected for a minute or so. The PCM/TCM's do not need to be updated routinely. Once done to the most current you'll probably never have to do it again. Most of the updates are done in response to TSB's, glitches, or minor problems or driveability issues of sizeable magnitude. Most updates are usually done within about the first year or two of manufacture. The latest update on my 06 was made in 06. I didn't install it until I bought it in Oct. 09, and it still had the original loaded. Next time I buy a used (sorry....previously owned) anything, I'll make sure any PCM/TCM updates and TSB's/Recalls are accomplished before I take possession. Didn't even think about it when I bought mine, even though I knew about possible updates.

Thanks for the reply, I will call the dealership and ask if they know if I my PCM has ever been updated. Good call on having it updated prior to purchase, I will definitely do that next time.

jeepgcoman 12-18-2011 05:43 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
If it's been updated by the dealer, they should affix an, "Authtorized Modification" sticker under the hood (on my LX it' on the upper radiator support) that will list what was modified (mine said, PCM Flash), the authority (mine was a TSB), the dealer No. and the date. They would probably also have a record of any update, by VIN No., on their computer. Let us know what you find out.

Jahkneefive 12-19-2011 04:21 PM

Re: Can dealership tell if ecu has been flashed
 
As pointed out above just use the DS to return it to stock tunes before visiting a dealer. If they flash it with your predator you'll lock out your tool and lose the tune.

As far as telling if you've messed with the ecm there are a few ways depending on the year. They can check key cycles vs. service history(ie if you haven't been in a year yet you show 9 key cycles they know something is up). The other way is if your service history shows you should have an AE and you have an AJ version(legally speaking only authorized dealers are allowed to flash the PCMs and those flash records are stored with corporate for emission reasons). The final way on newer models is match the flight recorder data with what is realistically possible with the stock parameters. Newer bus systems record the last events/data that occurred at time of failure. So if it shows the engine was at 7200rpms when the engine failed and your stock rev limiter is 5800 you're going to have a heck of a legal fight on your hands.



That being said dealers generally don't care unless it gets into an issue of weird warranty failures and the corp tech advisors get involved (ie STAR). Id say 95% of the time if you put it back to stock you'll be fine.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community