Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Lifetime Warranty Question, LWM110N for 12 Overland (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/lifetime-warranty-question-lwm110n-for-12-overland-32809.html)

azjb 12-19-2011 07:50 PM

Lifetime Warranty Question, LWM110N for 12 Overland

I am interested in the LWM100N Lifetime maxcare warranty for a 2012 Overland. I am an attorney and usually take the time to read everything I sign (or will sign). Pursuant to the sample service contract available at www.chryslerwarrantys.com, Some provisions concern me. I understand normal "wear" items such as brake pad, batteries, belts, and bulbs are not covered. That is reasonable. Several issues were listed in the "Not Covered" section that are not so reasonable:

THE PLAN WILL NOT COVER, OR APPLY TO LOSS OR EXPENSE RESULTING FROM:
Repairs required as a result of other than a manufacturing defect (such as a design defect or normal wear);
Exterior - tires; body sheet metal; glass; plastic lenses; paint; bright metal; bumpers; side-view mirrors (glass/ housing); wheel covers; steel wheels; aluminum wheels; rusted or frozen rims; door handles; weather strips; rust; water leaks; wind noises; all outer body panels; spoilers; plastic and fiberglass body parts; vinyl tops; convertible top fabric; repairs or damage caused by environmental factors such as acid rain, tree sap, salt or ocean spray;
Interior - trim; carpet; upholstery; dash pad; door and window handles; knobs; buttons; moldings; arm rests and head liner; cargo cover;

The things that are exclued that bother me most are: normal wear, water leaks, wind noises, trim, door and window handles, knobs; buttons

By far the most concerning part to me is the "Repairs required as a result of other than a manufacturing defect (such as a design defect or normal wear)."