Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Where does the remote wire go?? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/where-does-the-remote-wire-go-3299.html)

99limited 10-14-2009 09:13 PM

Where does the remote wire go??
 
Hey guys, so im trying to figure out where my remote (blue) wire is connected. I have my factory CD player, and the standard headunit. I have the wire connected to one of my fuses which powers the amp, but when i turn the car off, the amp stays on, thus draining my battery. Can someone help me??!!:confused:

Matt 10-14-2009 09:33 PM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
The remote power wire needs to be connected to a wire that goes hot either when the car is turned on or the radio turned on. Did you try the speaker output lead from the factory amplifier? That is your best bet because it won't go hot (turn the amp on) until the radio is turned on.

Chris 10-14-2009 09:44 PM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
Matt is right, another quick fix would be to check the fuse diagram and just move the remote wire to the radio fuse and not the amp fuse, getting the same result..

Jeep95XJ 10-15-2009 12:39 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
Do you have the infinity system or factory amped system? If so look under the back seat. At the factory amp you should find a brown wire with a white stripe. Thats your factory amp turn on lead. Use that as the turn on lead for your new amp. If not go behind the stock radio and tap into the red wire with the white stripe. Thats hot only with the key. That will solve your problems.

99limited 10-15-2009 01:04 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeep95XJ (Post 79627)
Do you have the infinity system or factory amped system? If so look under the back seat. At the factory amp you should find a brown wire with a white stripe. Thats your factory amp turn on lead. Use that as the turn on lead for your new amp. If not go behind the stock radio and tap into the red wire with the white stripe. Thats hot only with the key. That will solve your problems.

thank you very much. i will try tomorrow and let you guys know.:cool:

Jeep95XJ 10-15-2009 01:07 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
No problem good luck. Im amazed to see those Punch Z's still around. Old school woofer but not bad at all. They are a good 8 years old. Rockford makes good stuff.

99limited 10-15-2009 01:19 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeep95XJ (Post 79632)
No problem good luck. Im amazed to see those Punch Z's still around. Old school woofer but not bad at all. They are a good 8 years old. Rockford makes good stuff.

Hellz yeah man, funny story actually, i actually did a few favors for a friend and saw them laying in his basement about 2 years ago and asked him if he wanted them, he said No and i told him i would give him 50 bucks, he told me i culd take them and keep my money. Then i moved out of my parents house and was real tight on money, sold them to a friend for 60, he didnt even hook them in, he pawned them, then some how got em back and gave em back to me...for free. then i got the Amp from a coworker for 50$$, 760 watts, hits HARD!! :thumbsup:

Jeep95XJ 10-15-2009 09:21 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
lol your subs are whores! lol i have had stuff like that sold it to this friend he sold it they sold it in the end i had it back. Funny how it works.

99limited 10-15-2009 10:17 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeep95XJ (Post 79668)
lol your subs are whores! lol i have had stuff like that sold it to this friend he sold it they sold it in the end i had it back. Funny how it works.

LOL,Well i really didnt want to get rid of them but i didnt have a choice. But i got em back so thats all that matters. Next i need a better wiring kit. and capacitor.:thumbsup:

Jeep95XJ 10-15-2009 10:32 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
you dont need a cap. good quality 8 gauge kit is all you need.

99limited 10-15-2009 10:41 AM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
theres one at walmart that i want to get, comes with a capacitor. Think its 720 watt. Is there a certain gauge speaker wire i should use, or does that not make a difference? like from amp to sub.

Jeep95XJ 10-15-2009 01:36 PM

Re: Where does the remote wire go??
 
for what your running 16 gauge speaker wire will do fine. 8 gauge power and ground. Alway have a fuse under the hood as close to the battery as possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community