Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/)
-   -   Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure" (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/gauge-says-0-oil-pressure-33024.html)

UrbanAssaultJeep 12-24-2011 10:48 AM

Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
So I go for a drive in my jeep this morning, all of a sudden the check gages light comes on and I notice my oil pressure gauge says 0. So, I stopped at auto parts store and check the dipstick, it measures out to "add oil" but it is at the top end of the add oil section of stick. Keep in mind, I do not have any oil in my garage, no blue smoke that I notice but I am 2500 miles over on my oil change of 3000mile intervals. Anyway I buy 2 quarts of oil as I plan on changing oil in a few days anyway but I open the oil fill hole and notice it is bone dry inside there. Long story short I ended up putting the 2 full quarts in! You think I have a problem or is the gauge acting up? Im trying to sell it so dont need a gage showing 0 oil pressure. Also forgot to mention that after I put 2 quarts in and start vehicle again, I drove for about the minutes home and the gage said 0 the whole time.

JeepMe 12-24-2011 11:52 AM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
0 oil pressure does not mean you don't have any oil in your vehicle. If your oil pump goes out, you will have 0 oil pressure. Most likely, your oil pressure sending unit went out. Before you drive your Jeep I would ensure this is the case (assuming is playing Russian Roulette w/ your motor). Driving w/out any oil pressure is a quick way to seize up your motor.

Frango100 12-24-2011 12:42 PM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
Normally when the oil pressure becomes too low or even 0, you will hear an increase in mechanical engine noise. If the noise is still the same as before, its probably the oil pressure sending unit which is at fault. It happens once in a while on my jeep that when i start it up, that the pressure stays at 0. Most of the time when i shutt it of and start it again, its normal again. I have to order a new oil pressure sending unit..

UrbanAssaultJeep 12-24-2011 03:44 PM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
Well for a day while i was driving it would be normal, go to zero, then go back to normal on and off for a day or two. Now today its just at 0 no matter what. How can I test this?

UrbanAssaultJeep 12-24-2011 05:48 PM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
Just changed sensor, yep that was the problem! Thanks guys. For future reference its a 27mm deep well socket for sensor removal and install.

tmoc 12-30-2011 12:33 AM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
This is actually pretty common. I drove my '99 for two years with this issue and it ran flawlessly. The senders are almost always the problem. 4.7 and 4.0 Oil pumps are fairly durable. A buddy with a 4.7 in his Ram P/U had to replace his at 170,000 miles but he wasn't the most gentle driver and regular maintenance for him was STP Oil Treatment instead of 10W-30.

imaguy3 12-30-2011 09:21 AM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by UrbanAssaultJeep (Post 539749)
So, I stopped at auto parts store and check the dipstick, it measures out to "add oil" but it is at the top end of the add oil section of stick.
Anyway I buy 2 quarts of oil as I plan on changing oil in a few days anyway but I open the oil fill hole and notice it is bone dry inside there. Long story short I ended up putting the 2 full quarts in!

when it's at the top of "add oil" usually a quart is more than enough to bring you back full. When you open the oil fill you're not going to see oil coming up to that hole... so more than likely you overfilled your crankcase by a quart. Change your oil and put the correct amount of oil in your car!
If left for long too much oil in the motor can cause just as many problems as too little..

http://www.cartalk.com/content/each-...rs-oil-changed

"When you overfill the crankcase by a quart or more, then you risk "foaming" the oil. If the oil level gets high enough, the spinning crankshaft can whip the oil up into a froth, like the stuff that sits on top of your cappuccino. And the problem with that is that the oil pump can't pump froth."

UrbanAssaultJeep 12-31-2011 06:39 PM

Re: Gauge Says "0 Oil Pressure"
 
Yeah I changed the oil at the same time, 5 quarts of royal purple and 1 quart of Lucas Oil treatment.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community