Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/garage-door-opener-syncing-problem-33236.html)

MikeBarry 12-29-2011 07:41 PM

Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem
 
Hi guys-
I just leased a 2012 Grand Cherokee X - after having the ist and 2nd generation Infiniti FX. So far, so good. I'm enjoying the technology, but cannot get it the garage door transponder to syc with my rollling code garage door opener. I followed the manual to a t, and have never had this problem in the past. Any suggestions?
Thanks!
MikeBarry

RKlimas 12-29-2011 09:15 PM

Re: Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem
 
Make sure you are pushing the learn button on the garage door opener and not the push button remote. Rolling code garage door openers have a learn button behind the light shield.

jerryw1000 12-29-2011 09:36 PM

Re: Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem
 
I had a problem where the instructions said to hold the Homelink button down "for two seconds", which I was doing faithfully. Then I watched the video on the Homelink website where they also said "two seconds" but I noticed they held it until the red LED came on solid.....which on mine actually took closer to 4 or 5 seconds. Once I held the Homelink button down until the LED came on solid it worked fine with my old Craftsman rolling code opener.

mark13X 10-28-2012 05:33 PM

Re: Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem
 
I realize this is an old thread, but I had an issue with this also. I have a Chamberlain HD900D rolling-code Security+ garage door opener. I tried several times to program the thing with no luck. The opener light would even flash after the "learn" process, but the door would not open. Finally, I held the learn button in about 10 seconds until the LED on the opener went out. This clears all remotes associated with the opener. I then tried the Homelink programming on the WK2 again and it worked perfectly. I was able to reprogram all of my other remotes and all is well.

Hopefully this helps someone who might have a similar issue.

Justal13 10-30-2012 02:52 PM

Re: Garage Door Opener Syncing Problem
 
I have the same opener. Chamberlain (and many other) openers have a finite limit of how many remotes can be programmed to them. For most models, there is a limit of 8 remotes (including your homelink buttons). Once the limit is full, the only way to add a new remote is to clear all remote codes out of the opener (holding down the programming button on the opener for 20+ seconds), and then reprogramming all remotes at the same time - as you did. Best luck.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community