Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Interior/Exterior/Visual (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/)
-   -   Overhead Mounted Switches! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/overhead-mounted-switches-33330.html)

omelet 12-31-2011 10:31 PM

Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
***Mods feel free to move this if this isn't the place for it***


As most of you know I have been sporting the Saguaro Switch Panel and 5 Carling Technologies V-Series Contura II switches.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...g/620c78ca.jpg


I love the switches and the panel is very well made, both fit and finish. However I never liked the placing. From the driver seat you can't even see them. To activate a switch you either have to lean way over or just do it by feel and memorize the order. I knew this when I first bought the panel, but it was the best option for me at the time. I did not want to go cutting into the dash, center console, or overhead at the time.

Well after 4 broken switch covers I decided it was time to move them. It seems that when you have to hop up into the Jeep, your knee will at times whack a switch causing the cover to break loose. I don't want to put all the blame on the wife, because I might have broken one of them, but it was just one more reason why they shouldn't be there.

So it was time to find a new home for my switches. I started looking into the overhead because that was where I originally wanted them. I noticed that Valpacer had his up there, but he apparently doesn't have the sunroof which makes things a lot more crowded. I decided to pull the overhead console out and see just what I was dealing with before making any final decisions. The first thing I noticed was that the sunroof drain ran right in the way of where I wanted the switch panel. The second was a piece of plastic that looked to be a brace between the console and the sunroof and if I cut that out the switches might just fit.

After the first cut.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/f2aaf2ae.jpg

After the final cut to get it out.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/1b381f48.jpg


Then I slipped the new switch panel into the new void to check the fit. It was tight, but I thought I could make it work.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/875c2093.jpg


Back when I got the Gobi rack I also got a six slot switch panel made by Carling Technologies. It isn't the fixed piece (VM6-01), but the build your own one that snaps together. You can find both here. It consists of 2 end pieces and 4 center pieces. So that is what I decided to use.

The next step was the hardest. Measure out the opening needed for the panel and cut into the ceiling! After a few different measurement (measure twice, cut once :thumbsup: ) I got just what I wanted.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/ceac6621.jpg

So I grabbed my scalpel and slowly made the cut.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/73f720c3.jpg

Then I borrowed some Fray Check from the wife and applied it to the freshly cut edge.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/b750e4a2.jpg


Now I know that most guys/gals would not cut into the ceiling. I will admit I thought a long time about it. And obviously in the end I decided to do it. It is a personal preference just like everything else on a Jeep.

omelet 12-31-2011 10:31 PM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Time for the wiring! Since I already had 5 switches in the dash all I had to do was extend them up into the overhead and add a couple wires for the additional switch. Time consuming, but easy! The only real complication was the fact that I decided to switch up the order and orientation of the switches. I started by pulling off the side panel on the dash, under dash panel, and the pillar panel. I did not want to run the 9 wires that were going up there one be one so I went to Lowe's to see what I could find. I came home with the best thing they had to do the job . . . a 40' extension cord that was on sale for $10 :2thumbsup: It was made of 3 strands of 16 GA. Not the best thing, but I did not want to drive around looking for something better. So this way I only had to run 3 wires!

I ran a wire hanger from the sunroof to the top of the pillar and looped it through the extension cord's jacket.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/f3b0e158.jpg

Then pulled it up through the ceiling.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/c7f3cb5b.jpg


After running 3 pieces I clipped the ends of the wires to be extended. What a mess!

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/f4960581.jpg


I soldered the old wires to the new extensions, sealed everything up, and secured them in a tidy fashion. Then I moved up top. I reconnected the wires to their applicable extensions and modified the ones that needed it.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/fd59a68d.jpg

Then I tucked the wires into the overhead and ran the ends out through the new hole.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/a782a7b2.jpg


Now that the wires were in place I popped the switches into the new panel in their proper orientation and connected the wires.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/ac0f7477.jpg

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/b33e54d4.jpg


Now for the tight part. As you can see there is not much space between the sunroof drain and the console.

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/b2fda5aa.jpg


The wires have to squeeze right up into that void. And as you can see, that is a tight fit!

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/efba8941.jpg


After some gentle prying using the proper amount of leverage it went in!

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/6ec87748.jpg


The fit isn't perfect, but it works and doesn't look bad. Plus with it this tight it wont be going anywhere when I go bouncing around off road. :D Once I got the covers on their applicable switches it looked even better!

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/a3241f8f.jpg


I mentioned before that I was changing the orientation of the switches. Now the larger window with the picture is illuminated when it has power and the bottom smaller window is illuminated when the switch is activated instead of the other way around like I had it before.

Now:

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...s/938d556c.jpg

Before:

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/t...2/5e158c63.jpg


I am liking this set up a lot better than before! No more whacking the a switch and breaking a cover off! No more having to look around the steering wheel to activate a switch or count which one I need with my fingers! And now I have a cubby hole back!

I hope this helps anyone else wanting to find a better place to mount their switches :thumbsup:

nyc_medic 12-31-2011 10:54 PM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Nice work. Mighty brave of you to cut the overhead panel.

JonJon 12-31-2011 10:57 PM

Lookin good!


Sent from my iPhone 6 using Tapatalk

antsjeep 12-31-2011 11:05 PM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
great job! :thumbsup: looks super clean up there.

omelet 12-31-2011 11:09 PM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Thanks guys :thumbsup: I have been trying to convince myself to make those cuts for a couple of years now :D

jlewissystem 01-01-2012 12:00 AM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Nice job bro! Love the relocation.

Drew 01-01-2012 12:44 AM

Looks nice! Clean work for sure!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fireman310pt 01-01-2012 06:19 AM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
:thumbsup: very nice work! looks great!

Lucas J 01-01-2012 08:17 AM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Very impressive. Nice job.

JeepCoop 01-01-2012 11:22 AM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
SIC!!!! Love it!!! I havent hit mine yet but I aint the tallest tree in the forest! LOL

You got balls Nate!!

omelet 01-01-2012 01:53 PM

Re: Overhead Mounted Switches!
 
Thanks guys!


Greg, hmmm, no comment :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community