Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   How do I turn A/C compressor off (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/how-do-i-turn-a-c-compressor-off-33400.html)

dxrdxr 01-02-2012 08:03 PM

How do I turn A/C compressor off

I have a new 2012 Overland V8. I am new to Chrysler A/C controls. According to the owners manual there is really no way to disable the A/C compressor. I see there is a dedicated button for A/C but according the the manual the below appears

"If the system is in Mix, Floor or Defrost Mode, the A/C can be turned off, but the A/C system shall remain active to prevent fogging of the windows."

How can I assure the A/C compressor is not active for cold weather us?
Thanks

Suther 01-02-2012 09:18 PM

First of all, no definite answer but my previous experience and knowledge is that the compressor stays off if the temperature is below a certain degree (on my Passat it was 5 degrees Celsius). That prevents the ice buildup in the condenser. With that there is really no need to switch the compressor off. In contrary if it is too long off there is no circulation in the hoses which is necessary circulate the oil and prevent diffusion of the r134.

Hope that helped.
Alex

PECo 01-02-2012 09:31 PM

Re: How do I turn A/C compressor off

dxrdxr - Why would you want to disable the A/C compressor in any car? The reason it stays on during cold weather is to dehumidify the air, which helps prevent condensation on the inside of the windows.

dxrdxr 01-02-2012 10:14 PM

Mainly gas mileage and power. But another way of asking the question would be what is the A/C button for if it does not deactivate the compressor at least in some airflow mode. Thanks for the feedback

IndyBob 01-03-2012 05:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dxrdxr (Post 544461)