Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Anyone add a back-up camera? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/anyone-add-a-back-up-camera-33536.html)

JDrew 01-04-2012 11:47 PM

Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
I added the 430N radio to my JGC a few weeks ago and tonight, I added the back-up camera that is installed into the lightbar. (It's a kit you can order, if you didn't know.)

When following the instructions, you have to pull a ton of trim pieces and run a harness to the front to the radio obviously. This is a couple of hours worth of work.

What I found after running the harness all the way up front was that the new harness has the same connector with 3 pins in the connector as the factory one does in the same location.

Is it possible that all 2012 JGC's are pre-wired (for cost reduction using less variances of harnesses) in the harness for this option since most GC's has the back-up camera installed at the factory?

JDrew 01-05-2012 04:48 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!

rsrobinson2 01-05-2012 07:00 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
i had recently bought the kit and my dealer told me it wouldn't work. is it possible they didn't use the supplied cable. It does show that there is a camera, but no picture from behind.

pnwsnow 01-08-2012 05:16 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JDrew (Post 546314)
Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!


What pins go in which spots at the camera end of the cable. The harness has 4 and the camera side has 5.

JDrew 01-08-2012 08:36 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Honestly, I dont remember.. I would have to see the manual again. I can tell you that the schematic that came with it shows at the bottom of the diagram which ones you need to pin. The have numbers on the supplied black connector for the camera side and then the numbers on the schematic to show what wire goes into what numbered pin.. I wish I could help more, but I cant remember exactly the pins and wires.

rsrobinson2 01-10-2012 07:04 AM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
if anyone figures out the pin connection pattern could you please post it. My dealer is having trouble with the pin connections.

JDrew 01-10-2012 07:31 AM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
I'm guessing either they haven't looked at the install manual or yours didn't come with one. Here's a link to it: http://site.justforjeeps.com/guide/82212110.pdf

Pages #5 shows the schematic for the pins.

A black connector with no wires should have come with your kit. On the back of the connector, there are very small numbers like you will see in the schematic. (The black connector that plugs into the camera harness is NOT pictured in the manual, but two other connectors are.)

The black harness for the kit has 4 wires. White/light green tracer, Gray/Light Blue Tracer, Gray/Orange Tracer and Black solid.

White/Light Green Tracer goes into pin #1.
Gray/Light Blue goes into pin #3
Gray/Orange goes into pin #2
Black goes into pin #6

Since they couldn't figure out that connector, I'll explain the other one that plugs into your radio too.

The connector that will plug into your radio will be white. One of those should have come with your kit as well.

It also has numbers on it on all 4 corner for reference and is pictured in the manual.

The pins are as follows:

Gray/Light Blue goes into pin #3
Gray/Orange goes into pin #4
Shield goes into pin #5

Hope that helps! :)

rsrobinson2 01-10-2012 08:50 AM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Thanks

Tybalt39 01-15-2012 03:16 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JDrew (Post 546314)
Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!

Probably an obvious question...

Was the factory pre-installed harness pinned the same as your functioning harness (after you pinned it)?

JDrew 01-15-2012 03:16 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
yes

Tybalt39 01-15-2012 03:23 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
Well, THAT'S annoying....

I really dislike when things that should work, don't. Glad you got it going anyway.

solodogg 07-29-2012 04:04 PM

Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?
 
is there a possibility that the harness running from the back to the front is the same, but the factory radio harness does not have power to the camera? i can't imagine a harness being there that's not in use, with the same pins that is terminated somewhere.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community