Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   noise from diff?? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/noise-from-diff-35367.html)

clodbahls 01-29-2012 11:01 AM

noise from diff??

G'day all. New user here and would appreciate some advise. I am new to Jeeps periods and so far highly pleased. I have a 99 wj limited 4.7 4x4 quadra select 247 transfer n 3.73 dana 44 rear and 30(?0) front. K/n air intake front wrap style push bar w/ kc lights, all else stock and only 110K miles and very well kept. Have been going through tsb's and conducting advised fixes. My question z- After vehicle z warm when I lightly accelerate there is a grattin,grinding,rattling noise during the first two upshifts but not from 3rd to fourth, it first seemed to eminate from transfer. I performed the suggested change of transfer fluid from atf 4 to the chrysler fluid the tsb suggested. Still there. Wondering if from rear end. Now mind you when I apply gas with any urgency at all the noise is not there. any suggestions?

Ps appoligize for long first post just wanted to fully describe situation.
thanx again

Scottina06 01-29-2012 12:15 PM

Re: noise from diff??

very hard to diagnose noises on the net. It could be something as simple as something loose under your jeep to a bad tansfer case

Me Fix 01-29-2012 04:13 PM

Yes, it is very hard to help someone with a noise because it can come from so many different things. I just delt with a noise which was coming from the front. At first I wondered if it was a u joint, but after everything I did, I found out I had some loose lug nuts with one still pretty tight. The loose ones allowed the wheel a small amount of movement around the bolt holes which caused the rubbing sound i was hearing. I was lucky for several reasons. No expense to speak of and I found it before the wheel came off.