Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f75/)
-   -   Leaking Trans cooling lines at radiator (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f75/leaking-trans-cooling-lines-at-radiator-35725.html)

prsdrat 01-29-2012 03:28 PM

Leaking Trans cooling lines at radiator

Does anyone happen to have a picture or exploded image of the transmission
cooling lines where they attach to the radiator? PO had the radiator
replaced and the upper is misaligned and the lower is leaking. Since
I have no experience with these damned plastic tanks I'm hesitant to
just crank on the fitting. This fitting appears to be some sort of chassis
mount in the tank with a tubing fitting (compression or flare?) screwed
onto it. Can anyone enlighten or point me?

Thanks.

Z28jeep 02-20-2012 08:56 AM

Re: Leaking Trans cooling lines at radiator

I have the same issue! Trans lines leaking at radiator. I hear this is a common problem because of the fitting when fluid gets hot then cools off it creates a leak. Anyone else have this issue?

2005JGC 02-27-2012 02:54 PM

EDIT: this comment is for WK jeep not the OP's WJ

There is a separate trans cooler that these fasten into, its not internal to the radiator actually its a unit that is combine with the A/C condenser. I have replaced a leaking trans cooler/condensor before and if your leaking from behind the grill I would lean towards this, unless the lines are damaged they are typically going to either dump (leaving you on the side of the road) or they are not going to leak. The cooler lines are VERY common but at the rubber portion at the compression fittings in the engine compartment.

Ypahihi 03-05-2012 10:38 PM

Is this an expensive or complicated repair?
I also have what sounds like a fine leak where I can hear it but not physically detect it. Having replaced my radiator late last year, it kind of has me on eadge a bit.

2005JGC 03-05-2012 11:51 PM