Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips/DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/)
-   -   HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/hot-hint-drls-on-my-2011-laredo-for-free-36434.html)

Angel 01-30-2012 02:59 PM

HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Hi,

I read it somewhere in the forum already but I am sure not many of you are aware of this.
I went to the dealer and told them to change the "car code" from US to Canada in order to activate the Daylight Running Lights ...and it worked.

armoredsaint 01-30-2012 03:08 PM

Re: HOT HONT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
huh?

jgc4ever 01-30-2012 03:10 PM

Re: HOT HONT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
^Laredo's don't come with working DRLs in the United States, but they do in Canada. It's a simple code that a dealer can change.

Angel 01-30-2012 04:39 PM

Re: HOT HONT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
...what can I say, it works.

(and sorry for the typo in the titel. It's obviously "HINT" and not "HONT")

J13ntv 01-30-2012 11:07 PM

Re: HOT HONT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Angel (Post 563815)

(and sorry for the typo in the titel. It's obviously "HINT" and not "HONT")

Fixed :)

Angel 01-31-2012 09:40 AM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Thank you J13ntv

mot250 03-04-2012 11:44 PM

I wish disabling the DRLs on the Limited an Overland models was just as easy :(

Metz1374 03-18-2012 06:43 AM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
can only the dealership enter that code?

Brewster 03-18-2012 12:41 PM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mot250 (Post 586755)
I wish disabling the DRLs on the Limited an Overland models was just as easy :(

It should be since it's in the EVIC on the 300. I finally pulled my DRL fuses yesterday.

Jerster 04-21-2012 02:45 PM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Is it only the dealer that can change the code from US to Canada? If not kow does one do it? I played around with my EVIC and did not see where to change it.

Thanks

Cherodude 04-22-2012 06:26 PM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
Its usually a dealer thing. You need a scan tool to connect to the vehicle's data bus. Some members here with tech skills may have more info.

trent88 04-22-2012 08:01 PM

Re: HOT HINT: DRL's on my 2011 Laredo for free
 
what else does it change on the jeep when switched to "Canada" mode? anyone have any info on this. and how much would a dealer charge to do this. sometimes they have fees if they have to plug in there machine to trouble shoot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community