Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   04 Grand Cherokee Limited Not starting? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/04-grand-cherokee-limited-not-starting-37288.html)

amcclain0890 02-14-2012 01:16 PM

04 Grand Cherokee Limited Not starting?

Hi this is my first thread. Im a busy college student so the faster I can figure out what is wrong with my precious jeep, the faster I can get back on the roads (and off) :D

Ok so My jeep will not start. I was at the gas station and the gauges went all crazy when i put my key in. Then when it did crank the rpm's shot up to 3 or 4 or 5 one time and it stays there. I freaked out so I turned it off. We towed it back to my house. It will turn over, but no crank. I bought a new battery bc i needed a new one anyway. Still nothing. On my dash it says no key?? and no gas, even though i have a good 1/4 tank, and check engine light is on as well. Radio and everything else works, my poor baby just wont start. Im a 20 yr old woman, very very busy. Fast response would be good. Thanks ;)

Scottina06 02-14-2012 03:38 PM

Re: 04 Grand Cherokee Limited Not starting?

we need the codes associated with the check engine light

Frango100 02-14-2012 08:06 PM

Welcome to the garage, unfortunately already with problems.
This can be a difficult one to tackle. All the strange indications on the instrument panel point towards a PCI data bus problem. You could try the key dance ( ignition switch OFF/ON 3 times and leave it in on at the third time). The odometer should show a fault code (or more then one:D) or DONE when the Powertrain Control Module doesn´t see any fault. But if you have a PCI bus problem, it can be that this test doesn´t work.