Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Viper Alarm..? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/viper-alarm-37445.html)

lll2for3lll 02-16-2012 07:31 PM

Viper Alarm..?
 
So here is the deal. I need an alarm for my WK but I don't want the remote start. I also don't want the cheesy 6-tone siren. I plan to add a couple of 2-tone piezo sirens that make ears bleed.

What all am I going to need to complete this install?

Is there any way to complete the install without the use of the cliche 6-tone siren if the Viper comes with the kit?

I have no knowledge of installing security systems for cars do I plan to take it somewhere to have it installed.

Here is what I have so far. Please, if you know of anything better, please let me know. But the ear piercing peizo sirens have to be installed...1 inside and the other on the outside.

Alarm: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...per-3203V.html

Siren: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...cted-513T.html

antsjeep 02-17-2012 11:09 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575396)
So here is the deal. I need an alarm for my WK but I don't want the remote start. I also don't want the cheesy 6-tone siren. I plan to add a couple of 2-tone piezo sirens that make ears bleed.

What all am I going to need to complete this install?

Is there any way to complete the install without the use of the cliche 6-tone siren if the Viper comes with the kit?

I have no knowledge of installing security systems for cars do I plan to take it somewhere to have it installed.

Here is what I have so far. Please, if you know of anything better, please let me know. But the ear piercing peizo sirens have to be installed...1 inside and the other on the outside.

Alarm: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...per-3203V.html

Siren: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...cted-513T.html

On the back of the siren that comes with the system is gonna be two black loops. If you don't want the "6 tone" alert then cut the black/white loop. If you want to almost double the siren output, then also cut the solid black loop.

If you plan on running two peizo sirens you will need to use a relay to power them. I had two installed in my '96 Maxima way back when. I put one in the upper dash vent of the center console and the other under the dash next to the alarm brain aimed down towards the floor. Let me tell you they were loud enough to make a person deaf permanently if you sat in there for more than 10secs.

goodluck!

lll2for3lll 02-17-2012 11:20 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
So the wiring is still the same with the Viper horns as when you did it?

Do I need any bypass gadgets? Or do I just buy the Viper alarm straight up?

antsjeep 02-17-2012 11:31 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575792)
So the wiring is still the same with the Viper horns as when you did it?

Do I need any bypass gadgets? Or do I just buy the Viper alarm straight up?

1) Yes. Tap into the Brown "siren output" wire and use that as a (+) to trigger your relay for the two peizo sirens.

2) For just an alarm install, a bypass is not required. If you did remote start, then yes you would need a bypass.

lll2for3lll 02-17-2012 11:36 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Ok. Just called an audio place and they told me I did need the bypass. :lol:

Another question: When I cut the wires for the cliche 6-tone siren, will that also disable the chirp you get when it's armed? I'd much rather have the chime like most cars come with.

Can you explain more on the relay to power the piezo sirens?

antsjeep 02-17-2012 11:41 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575808)
Ok. Just called an audio place and they told me I did need the bypass. :lol:

Another question: When I cut the wires for the cliche 6-tone siren, will that also disable the chirp you get when it's armed? I'd much rather have the chime like most cars come with.

Can you explain more on the relay to power the piezo sirens?

Shit... shows how much i know about the newer systems and bypasses! haha

You will still get the chirp regardless. You would have to program the system to disable the arm/disarm chirp. Pretty simple to do... menu #1 feature 2.


To power the extra sirens you will need a standard 12v relay (single pole, double throw) I know Best Buy sells them (bosch brand) in the install bay for about $12 with a pigtail attached. Even autozone and pep boys sells them.

On the bottom of the relay are pins with numbers next to each... use the following:

#87 - to your (+) or red lead on the peizo sirens (the remaining black lead needs to be grounded)
#85 - to a chassis ground (-) in the car
#30 - 12v constant
#86 - brown siren output wire from the alarm brain

lll2for3lll 02-17-2012 11:47 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Ok. I hope more people will tune in and give more info.

Like the bypass and should I even choose Viper. The piezo sirens are going in regardless.

What's the deal with the relays?

antsjeep 02-17-2012 11:59 AM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575815)
Ok. I hope more people will tune in and give more info.

Like the bypass and should I even choose Viper. The piezo sirens are going in regardless.

its technically not called a bypass, its called a door lock module. However you will need to have the unit flashed to work. Any stereo shop can do flash it.

Here is one model that would work:

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...SearchClickout[query_id]=6498385&SearchClickout[Ignore]=1

lll2for3lll 02-17-2012 12:05 PM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
That one has a bad review from somebody that used it with a Jeep.

antsjeep 02-17-2012 01:53 PM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575821)
That one has a bad review from somebody that used it with a Jeep.

it was just an example of a door lock module needed for the WK... :p

lll2for3lll 02-17-2012 01:55 PM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Ok now relays....???

antsjeep 02-17-2012 02:45 PM

Re: Viper Alarm..?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lll2for3lll (Post 575894)
Ok now relays....???

read post #6.... i already explained the relays for ya! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community