Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

Ordering a 2012 GC - How does it work?

4K views 28 replies 9 participants last post by  Aiyer 
#1 ·
Hi all...

I could not find the Jeep with the options/color/etc and the dealer says that we have to order one. I have the time and am willing to wait 8-10 weeks to right Jeep.

I have never done this before and I have no idea what kind of discounts I would get. Do I pay the invoice price or way less than that since the vehicle did not sit in the dealer lot.

Any info and tips will be greatly appreciated. I did a quick search on this forum and could not find the right info.

Cheers,
-Aiyer

#2 · (Edited)
#9 ·
Depends on the dealer. 2 dealers in my area would not discount an order. The one I used had no problem. Makes sense to discount to me as there are no floor plan charges for them... in and out.
From their point of view, when you order then you're making them continue to pay the lot fees for the inventory they already have since they're moving the inventory. If you buy off the lot, then that's a lot charge they no longer have to pay. I was actually given that as a one reason once for why they prefer to sell off the lot.

#4 ·
Work your best deal, and order. Don't buy the line that they don't discount ordered Jeeps. Its just like any other purchase. Depending on where you live the JGC are coming out of the factory pretty quick. I've heard some as little as 5 weeks from order to delivery.;)

#5 · (Edited)
You should get a similar deal on an order as one off the lot. Dealers want to sell cars and make a profit. If you are looking at something they don't think will sell if you back out or the dealer does not have an allocation you won't have much bargaining power. The dealer may heavily discounting a vehicle they have on the lot.