Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Interior/Exterior/Visual (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f176/)
-   -   Replacing horns.... (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f176/replacing-horns-39586.html)

JRNYC 03-22-2012 12:26 PM

Replacing horns....
 
I have searched High and Low but cannot find any details on steps required to replace the horns.

I see a few threads showing how to remove the lower fascia and then grill for other work ( which would leave full access to the 2 horns mounted directly behind the grill ) and even a thread claiming you can remove the grill by itself by just working the "tabs" on the grill.

I dont think I am going to be ambitious enough to remove the lowers, the wheel well piece then the grill just to get at my horns given the free time I generally have.

Does anybody have any insight into getting at the horns without all the fuss? I have looked and unpopped the black plastic that holds the grill on top and pulled it back some to have a peek but it seems not a good idea to work it with a hand in the front of the car while the other is prying back the plastic. Feels like something can snap.

Any ideas?

armoredsaint 03-22-2012 01:51 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
tag - would like to know also.

OP what kind of horns are you upgrading to? I would love ones even louder for idiots on tier cellphone texting at a green light. :D

JRNYC 03-22-2012 02:05 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
Its a toss up but I will probably go with WOLO bad boy. Its not much bigger than the stock horns and no extra little tubes or electric compressor to worry about. They should mount up relatively easy. Thinking of also adding this to the existing 2 horns and upping the fuse or using a relay set up.

Here is a sound clip from the site. PS the sound clips dont do the horns justice as I have been using this hoorn for a while in my other vehicle.

http://www.wolo-mfg.com/419-519-stereo.wav

many more samples at http://www.wolo-mfg.com/air.htm

Since I have 2 horns I even toy around with using 2 bad boys but wonder if its effectiveness is worth the trouble?

I might even get around to using an air tank and train/truck set up. Wish I had that the other day to wake up this sissy talking on his cell phone sashaying across the street totally against a dont walk before he even entered the crosswalk lol,. I woulda hit him with a quick blast and hopefully he woulda freaked out lol. I mean WTH wake up, if it was a big truck might not have stopped in time. Anyway..lol

i0r15 03-22-2012 02:34 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
I'm not sure about the wk2. But if you got some gyno skills, you should be able to reach up from below with a wrench. I did that on my WK. Bit tight but precission is the key :D

JRNYC 03-22-2012 03:22 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
Ya I was thinking of puting her up on the highest ride height, putting 2 jack stands under the front end and having a looksie but was hoping that there was a way to do it from up top. Maybe i will try this weekend but with travel back and forth to work and side jobs time is not on my side.

Love your headlights BTW! I wish angel eyes where available on the projector set up.

i0r15 03-22-2012 05:32 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
If you can lift it up that's better. I was in a hurry so I did it right from the ground.
You only need to free up one bolt and then the entire horn cluster comes off. From there it's a piece of cake.

Halo's will probably be available for the WK2 very soon :)

nonopr01 03-22-2012 06:52 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
you can go with Hella dual horns. I have them in my Office cargo van and they are very loud with the euro tone.

padgett 03-22-2012 10:44 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
I put air horns on everything, FIAMM's are probably the highest pitched/most piercing. Used to have a set of Hadleys that ran on 90 psi and had a resovoir. Those were LOUD.

What I usually do is to leave one of the original electrics in place. This provides a different sound and balamnces the elctrical load.

Unfortunately Chrysler-Jeep-Daimler-FIAT refuses to sell WK2 owners a wiring manual </rant> but suspect it is similar to the 2009 color code.

armoredsaint 03-22-2012 10:56 PM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nonopr01 (Post 598878)
you can go with Hella dual horns. I have them in my Office cargo van and they are very loud with the euro tone.

Seems like a good idea with the Hella, I can't remember where the horn relay is at, I assume it's where all the fuses are at?

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...fL._SS400_.jpg

Ratchet 03-23-2012 06:52 AM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
If you truly want a real horn, I've got 3 words for ya... Nathan Air Chimes. Granted you'll need a quick fill compressor, high rate dump servo, and at least a 5gal air tank, but it is well worth it. *evil grin*

Back to original question, I would think that if you can't access them from the top, removing the lower debris shield would be the best bet along with the proper size "GearWrench". They work great in tight spaces.

padgett 03-23-2012 07:43 AM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
One guy here had a diesel locomotive horn but every time he blew it, the engine would stall.

If the pipes are loud enough to set off car alarms, you don't need a horn.

nonopr01 03-23-2012 08:34 AM

Re: Replacing horns....
 
With the hella no need to look for the relay they come with the relay and you just follow the simple instructions. I have install a few of those in my card in the past few years.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community