Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/)
-   -   Double Din Install (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/double-din-install-40419.html)

kbacker21 04-07-2012 09:50 PM

Double Din Install
 
I have an 05 Grand Cherokee w/o nav and wanted to install the Pioneer sph-da01

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...adio+(SPH-DA01)

I've done my research and it appears as though I need:

Bezel - http://www.leeparts.com/jeep_grand_c...bezel_kit.html

Metra Kit - http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-CR1289.../dp/B000UF24RC

Antenna Adapter - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...R9DZ36XBRWFYW6

I know I need a harness, but I don't know what one I need so I can still use my subs. There's one set of pre-outs on the stereo.

I was also planning to bypass the parking brake requirement for videos.

Can someone help me out with the harness and bypass as well as anything else I may be missing.

Thank you in advance.

TurboDiesel 04-08-2012 12:19 AM

Re: Double Din Install
 
curious to know this aswell

alltho i drive an 08

JMLoughrey 04-08-2012 01:03 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
for the harness, i'll need to know if you have the Boston Acoustic system or not. It makes a difference.

As for the video bypass, you'll need astandard 12v SPDT or SPST automotive relay.

30-ground
85-ground
86- Remote turn on wire from radio
87- Parking brake input from radio
87a- Not used.

That should bypass the parking brake circuit on a pioneer video screen.

Other option is to get a normal switch, available at any auto parts store, and put one side of the switch to ground and the other to the Parking brake input. Flip the switch and it'll bypass the brake lead.

kbacker21 04-08-2012 01:19 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
I don't have the Boston acoustics

JMLoughrey 04-09-2012 09:52 AM

Re: Double Din Install
 
I would go with the Metra xsvi-6502-nav.

Gives you a reverse output if you put on a backup camera, also does parking brake (not needed if you bypass) and gives you R.A.P. (acc stays on when you take the key out until you open the door)

kbacker21 04-09-2012 11:48 AM

Re: Double Din Install
 
will this harness allow me to hood up the speakers using wires leaving my pre-outs available for my subs?

JMLoughrey 04-09-2012 05:40 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kbacker21 (Post 609761)
will this harness allow me to hood up the speakers using wires leaving my pre-outs available for my subs?

Yes it will.

kbacker21 04-09-2012 07:20 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
Thank you so much for the help.

LandEagle 04-10-2012 05:06 AM

Re: Double Din Install
 
..and what is the harness for boston please?

JMLoughrey 04-11-2012 12:23 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LandEagle (Post 610284)
..and what is the harness for boston please?

for the boston system you'll need the Metra CHTO-013 harnes they make. Integrated the boston amps as they are run via data.

anagib 04-19-2012 09:04 PM

Re: Double Din Install
 
im also doing the same exact install, except on a 06 with bostons would i need anything different, can this be done myself

JMLoughrey 04-20-2012 10:57 AM

Re: Double Din Install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by anagib (Post 616048)
im also doing the same exact install, except on a 06 with bostons would i need anything different, can this be done myself

Yes you will need a different harness if you have the Boston Acoustic system.

Metra CHTO-013 i beleive is the model number you are looking for.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community