Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Multiple codes, running like $h!+ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/multiple-codes-running-like-h-40841.html)

JeepGC60thAE 04-16-2012 08:11 PM

Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Lately my WJ (01 4.7, 150k miles) has been running terrible. It goes into limp mode after only being driven 5 miles or so. When stopped, the idle either surges or drops very low and stalls the engine. Codes are P0300, 302, 303, 305, 308, 320, and P0700. Just wanted to see if anyone had suggestions before i just start throwing parts in it. I love my Jeep to death, but I cant afford to spend any more fixing things as ive spent almost $3,000 the past 6 months on it.
As bad as i hate to think about it I may have to call it quits on this thing. My dream is a WK SRT8 and i was hoping my wj would hold out long enough until i can get one. I hate to just give up on it, so any help would be much appreciated:thumbsup:

cheapjeep 04-16-2012 08:32 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
P0320 (M) No Crank Reference Signal at PCM No reference signal (crankshaft position sensor) detected
during engine cranking.
P0320 (M) No RPM Signal to PCM (Crankshaft
Position Sensor Signal to JTEC)
A CKP signal has not been detected at the PCM.

Sounds like the crank position sensor or wiring to it. This could definately be causing the multiple misfire codes as well.

JeepGC60thAE 04-16-2012 08:46 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cheapjeep (Post 614061)
P0320 (M) No Crank Reference Signal at PCM No reference signal (crankshaft position sensor) detected
during engine cranking.
P0320 (M) No RPM Signal to PCM (Crankshaft
Position Sensor Signal to JTEC)
A CKP signal has not been detected at the PCM.

Sounds like the crank position sensor or wiring to it. This could definately be causing the multiple misfire codes as well.

I've looked up all the codes and know what they are, I just was wondering where would be the best place to start? You said the crankshaft sensor could be causing the misfire codes...on top of that would the coil packs on said cylinders be a likely culprit? Possibly bad plugs or fuel injectors?
As stated before, I just can't afford to throw a bunch of parts/money in it right now. In the past 6 months i've replaced:
-power steering pump
-power steering pressure line
-battery
-radiator + hoses and thermostat
-AC condensor
-Tranny rebuild
-all u-joints

Plugs were replaced about a year ago and engine ran excellent until about 2 weeks ago when these problems started.

Frango100 04-16-2012 09:55 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
The crank position sensor is used to sense engine speed, but also for ignition timing and injector sequence. So there is a good change that this sensor is your problem. I would not suspect several coils or injectors being bad at the same time. You could reset the fault codes and run it again, to be sure which are current faults.
You also said the tranny goes into limp mode. Do you have a scanner to see what the real fault is, since the P0700 is only a generic transmission fault code.

JeepGC60thAE 04-16-2012 10:42 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
I have reset the codes and they came back next day. I'm thinking about just putting a new crankshaft sensor in and resetting again and see what happens. Any experience here with Autozone/O'Reilly sensors? I know these things can be finicky about non-OE parts. Someone please warn me if the part store sensors are crap, i've heard the crankshaft sensor isn't fun to replace...

edit: haven't had the transmission scanned yet

2005JGC 04-17-2012 12:01 AM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Stick with a mopar crank sensor... period.

I would agree with everyone else, the crankshaft position sensor senses crankshaft speed, it also senses misfires due to crankshaft speed, when the time between teeth widens beyond a specific threshold it counts a misfire, considering a misfire is not contributing to the rotation of the crankshaft there will slow pulses on cylinders that are misfiring... That said I would highly suspect the crankshaft position sensor causing false misfire dtc's.

Also as stated your P0700 will be a dtc in the trans controller, a generic scanner will not pull these codes, I would imagine an aamco or similar trans shop would have the ability to pull these codes (likely for a price).

JeepGC60thAE 04-18-2012 12:50 AM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Thanks a lot for all the info and suggestions guys. I picked up the crankshaft sensor from the dealership today, but unfortunately wont get around to installing until Sunday most likely. Will update

Frango100 04-18-2012 10:01 AM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Never had to replace the sensor on mine sofar, but it seems that you have to remove the starter motor to get access to the sensor, it just above it.

2005JGC 04-18-2012 03:08 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Yep, disconnect the battery, pull the 2 15mm bolts out of the starter and drop it down onto the control arm and exhaust, then you can get your hand up there to disconnect and remove the sensor... you may need to droop the suspension (jack it up by the body) to get enough room... whenever I do it im on a rack so the suspension is drooped, so I cannot say forsure I just know its tight up there.

JeepGC60thAE 04-18-2012 05:58 PM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
That was another question i was going to ask, suggestions on the best/easiest way to do this job. I have a storage lift with frame jacks on it so hopefully they will lift it up enough to get in there.

thanks again guys

JeepGC60thAE 04-26-2012 10:43 AM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
Update:
Finally got around to installing the new crankshaft sensor. Cleared the codes and have driven it for a couple days now with no issues. I do now have a P0725 speed input sensor code, but none of the previous misfire or crankshaft codes have come back.

01grand 04-26-2012 10:51 AM

Re: Multiple codes, running like $h!+
 
From what I understand the transmisison speed sensors are easy enough to replace. They are on the left side, and 1 bolt holds each (input and output) to the case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community