Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/drl-on-2012-laredos-without-package-is-it-possible-41830.html)

JeepMonster 05-07-2012 05:08 PM

DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
I know someone had the dealer change the car code from USA to Canada and they worked but has anyone done this on their 2012 that doesn't already have the package? Also, does that change emissions setting or anything like that.

Today the dealer seemed convinced it couldn't be done.

padgett 05-07-2012 07:22 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
Could just leave the fog lights on...

JeepMonster 05-07-2012 07:38 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
Yeah I know, I was just wondering if anyone successfully did this on a 2012 because I know its been done on the 2011's. Would be nice to get the low beam light.

Quote:

Originally Posted by padgett (Post 626205)
Could just leave the fog lights on...


SW03ES 05-07-2012 10:01 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
I would be shocked if the 2012 is any different than the 2011 in this regard...

JeepMonster 05-07-2012 10:20 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
I'm tending to agree with you. Going to see what the dealer says tomorrow, the service guy said he was going to have the mechanic call Jeeps technology people or something like that to see if it's possible and if so how it affects the rest of the vehicle.

If they can't do it I think I'll take it to another nearby dealer and ask them their opinion :D


Quote:

Originally Posted by SW03ES (Post 626318)
I would be shocked if the 2012 is any different than the 2011 in this regard...


1200RT-P 05-07-2012 10:31 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
Curious why you want this done? Not hating in any way, and I definitely see the safety benefit of this at times, but couldn't you just 'flip the switch'?

JeepMonster 05-07-2012 10:43 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
I've had DRL's on all my previous vehicles, I guess I have just become used to having them for mainly the safety benefit. I could flip the switch but then it would turn the tail lights on as well wouldn't it? If that is possible, I guess it would just be more convenient to not have to turn it on every time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1200RT-P (Post 626330)
Curious why you want this done? Not hating in any way, and I definitely see the safety benefit of this at times, but couldn't you just 'flip the switch'?


eibyer 05-08-2012 10:28 AM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
What package does this come with? All Weather Group?

SarKat 05-08-2012 11:02 AM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
There should be no difference between the 2011/2012. Its a simple reprogram and when I imported mine to Canada the dealer in Minnesota did it for no charge. It does not affect any of the emission controls either. It is just a reprogram for the lights.

JeepMonster 05-08-2012 04:55 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
If anyone who has had this done wouldn't mind PMing me the dealer info they used because mine seems to think this cannot be done but were interested in figuring it out. They said they called Jeep and they said unless you have the option it can't be done, I still am of the belief that it can.

SarKat 05-08-2012 06:36 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
Hey jeepmonster, I am not able to pm yet due to the number of post i have, to new. but the name of the dealer was Luther Chrysler/Jeep in Brookdale Minnesota. Hope this helps

JeepMonster 05-08-2012 07:05 PM

Re: DRL on 2012 Laredo's without package- is it possible?
 
Awesome, thanks a lot!

Quote:

Originally Posted by SarKat (Post 626696)
Hey jeepmonster, I am not able to pm yet due to the number of post i have, to new. but the name of the dealer was Luther Chrysler/Jeep in Brookdale Minnesota. Hope this helps



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community