Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/whats-on-your-evic-digital-mph-41962.html)

ColoradoJeep 05-10-2012 05:05 PM

What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
The analog speedo on my 2012 GC Ltd is so hard to see, as the steering wheel covers most of it up. I'm 6 foot, of average size, so its not like I have the wheel jacked around to an odd position. With sunglasses on it's impossible to see the needle for speed. So have the EVIC always set to digital MPH ... which I love much better anyway.

Tybalt39 05-10-2012 06:16 PM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Ditto.

Of course, one of the reasons the gauges are hard to read is that they are spaced so far apart (cutting off the viewable area), to make room for the EVIC....
Perhaps the EVIC could move to a HUD next go-'round....

Brewster 05-10-2012 07:40 PM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
I can only see the speedo up to about 40, so speed on the EVIC full time for me.

Cherodude 05-10-2012 08:30 PM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Pet peeve # 172: It doesn't help that the analog speedo goes to 240kph (what's that, about 150mph), so that the actual usable portion is only a fraction of the dial. The vehicle speed limiter (and tires) won't let you get near there anyway. Just a silly sales do-dad.

Smiffer 05-11-2012 10:34 AM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Same here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brewster (Post 627742)
I can only see the speedo up to about 40, so speed on the EVIC full time for me.


Eric67 05-11-2012 12:06 PM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Kmh. I have an USA JGC and driving in Holland. The gauge is mph. So, km/h works very nice for me :-)

Jeeters 05-12-2012 08:42 AM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Yep, I have my EVIC showing the mph speed since the steering wheel covers the top of the speedo. I'm 6'2".

I think the speedo is kinda useless anyways... it goes up to 140mph, making the numbers all cram together, so it's hard to tell what the speed is at a quick glance. I can't quite figure out what the problem is - I've had 140mph speedos (maybe even higher) in other vehicles and never had a problem seeing the speed, but the WK2s is just useless to me.

Lingohocken 05-12-2012 07:37 PM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Same as most: EVIC is set onto vehicle speed except when some special info is needed. Especially with polarized dark glasses, the speedometer needle is just too hard to read. Stare awhile and its readout becomes apparent, but that unsafe and annoying. Too, as widely noted, dial increments are crammed much too close together.

How anybody could manage to screw up something as simple and proven as an analog speedometer is beyond comprehension. Yes, the EVIC generally substitutes nicely, but its speed readout gets overriden at times by nav turn alerts, seatbelt disconnection warnings and other stuff.

Proof that you're an old timer: if you remember when the government mandated that speedometers read no higher than 80 MPH. :p

Eric67 05-14-2012 04:08 AM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
@Lingohocken;

The turn by turn in the EVIC can be turned off by the settings in the EVIC. This annoyed me also.

frog_a_lot 05-14-2012 05:44 AM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
I dont see how the speedo can be covered up, maybe you guys sit in different positions etc. I am like 5'10" and the speedo is fully visible easily. Where is your seat position, mine is fully lowered down.

Anyway i have Speed/KPH displayed on the EVIC just cause its easy, every so often flick to fuel consumption but usually speed

Yadkin 05-14-2012 07:07 AM

Re: What's on Your EVIC? Digital MPH?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lingohocken (Post 628666)
...
Proof that you're an old timer: if you remember when the government mandated that speedometers read no higher than 80 MPH. :p

Wait- wasn't it 85?

Back then I had a first generation EVIC on my '85 TBird and could switch it to mph, and that would flash above 85 and not report your speed beyond that. But it could be switched to kph and that would report up to 199. :D

For the '12 JGC I typically have it on fuel economy. Sometimes tire pressure.

Mongoose9400 05-14-2012 08:13 AM

I rotate it around depending on my driving. Mostly MPH. Long trips I watch tire psi and occasionally fuel economy. Spirited driving on the performance pages watching g-forces and such.


Sent from my iPhone 4S


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community