Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/)
-   -   New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/new-srt-wheels-tires-tpms-what-are-my-options-to-reprogram-tpms-sensors-42322.html)

elp_jc 05-19-2012 06:46 PM

New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors?
 
Just like the title says folks. And yes, the 2012 SRT wheels/tires fit on a 2012 Overland :thumbsup:.

Haven't driven the truck yet, but I'm sure I'll get a TPMS error. On BMWs, you can reset the system with a button in the dash, and in 3 minutes, it learns new (or repositioned) sensors. Didn't see anything by cycling the computer on this car, but rather ask, since sometimes there're hidden menus only covered in the service manual.

If not, can Discount Tire do it with their gizmos? Or is it dealer time? Thanks gang.

Scottina06 05-19-2012 06:48 PM

Just drive it for a couple minutes/miles

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

elp_jc 05-19-2012 07:13 PM

Re: New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottina06 (Post 632006)
Just drive it for a couple minutes/miles

So they reprogram automatically??? Cool :thumbsup:. I'll do that a bit later today and report results. Thanks man.

Scottina06 05-19-2012 07:31 PM

Yes.....they will sync automatically.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

elp_jc 05-19-2012 08:57 PM

Re: New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottina06 (Post 632014)
Yes.....they will sync automatically.

Indeed :thumbsup:. System showed the previous air pressures, and about 5 miles later, the system reset, and I immediately got a rear left flat tire symbol, with the rest of the tires at 37, just like I set them. That freaking tire had deep gouges near the sensor, so obviously something was wrong with it. And still is, since it was dead flat when installed. Aired it up to 37, and a few hours later it was down to 20. Was hoping for a loose valve and/or sensor nut, but no luck. Also no 'hissing' anywhere. Hope there isn't something wrong with the freaking wheel man. Now will have to have the stupid tire removed to investigate :mad:. I DO NOT have good experience with my wheels when removing runflat tires; they have always been damaged. Darn. Thanks for your great help again.

JTS97Z28 05-19-2012 10:15 PM

Re: New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors?
 
Must see pics!!!!!

elp_jc 05-20-2012 03:03 AM

Re: New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JTS97Z28 (Post 632053)
Must see pics!!!!!

Check my other thread buddy. SRT wheels and tires look great IMO, especially over black. But disappointed wheels and tires weren't as described. And worse of all, one being flat. Geez. There're no honest business people left in the world, I guess. Oh well. Will have to deal with that on Monday. Hope it's not a defective wheel, like I suspect. And I wouldn't doubt the freaking TPMS sensors are used. Take care.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community