Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Interior/Exterior/Visual (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/)
-   -   Questions about installing/purchasing SRT rear bumper (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f182/questions-about-installing-purchasing-srt-rear-bumper-42492.html)

JRsmoothee 05-23-2012 08:26 PM

Questions about installing/purchasing SRT rear bumper

i have a few question about installing a srt rear bumper on my 09 WK

1) what options do i have for exhaust, i would really like to keep my spare tire....if i install the srt exhaust will it be a bolt on application for my 4.7/ what modification will i need to do (besides removing my spare tire) and what other exhaust exit options have other people done besides coming out the middle of the bumper

2)how easy of an install would this be to do myself.... im not a pro mechanic but have installed my mopar body kit, rear sway bar, ect.... nothing to technical

Escape 05-23-2012 08:56 PM

Re: Questions about installing/purchasing SRT rear bumper

You can have the muffler shop route it around the spare.

Install is easy. You will need either push pins or a plastic rivet tool to replace the ones on the rear fenderwell. 2 bolts 1 behind each tail light, 3 or 4 pins along the top of the step pad area and 2 bolts hidden up under each side behind the sides of the cover.

Becareful removing and replacing the chrome part and the rear sensors if you have them.

JRsmoothee 05-23-2012 09:04 PM

the thing is though we dont have a custom muffler shop in town.... nearest one is an hour away and trying to get in will be a 3 to 4 month wait because of the oil boom (many many people up here all wanting exhaust work done on their big duramax diesels) so i was kinda hoping there would be something out there prefabricated up that could either be bolted on or easily welded on by a random welder

robpp 05-23-2012 09:15 PM

Routing around spare will take a Real Good shop.