Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Technical Tips/DIY/How-To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/)
-   -   How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/how-to-connect-factory-back-up-camera-to-aftermarket-head-unit-42888.html)

CatMan879 06-03-2012 03:20 PM

How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
OK guys I've been trying to figure this out for years and then I finally saw it on the Red site. So here it is.

Parts needed:
RCA plugs
Wire (I used 18ga)
Quick Splice Connectors
and I used some heat shrink just for the hell of it.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0646.jpg

Connect 2 wires to the RCA plug. One is signal the other is ground. At this point I threw some heat shrink to hold the wires.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0647.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0648.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0649.jpg

Don't forget to make sure nothing is grounding out.
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0651.jpg

And the finished product.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0644.jpg

Onto the Jeep

Once you have your radio removed look for a 22 pin connector with only 3 wires attached. (this will NOT be the case if you have stock rear entertainment system.) Using your quick splices, connect the signal wire (RCA's center pin) to the Green and black wire shown.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0660.jpg

then connect the RCA shield to the Green and Orange wire.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0670.jpg

As you can see in the the picture I connected to the wrong wire first then fixed it. That is what the electrical tape is for.

You can now Plug the RCA into the back of your head unit.

Now you need to run a wire from the back up camera connector on the tail gate to your head units reverse wire. as you can see from the next few pictures. I ran it from the Back through the head liner down the A pillar under the dash to the Head unit.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0664.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0666.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0665.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0667.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0668.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0673.jpg

In the back here is what it is connected to.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0679.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0680.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0678.jpg

And the final product after everything is installed.

http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0676.jpg
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...9/DSC_0675.jpg

A few pointers have a friend with you trying to get the tailgate cover on and off was a b*tch by myself.

AND DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS THE DAY AFTER A TROPICAL STORM HITS YOUR AREA I WAS STUCK INSIDE MY TRUNK FOR AN HOUR DURING A REALLY BAD DOWNPOUR AND COULD NOT MOVE TO THE FRONT DO TO THE TAIL GATE COVER BEING IN THE WAY AND I DID NOT WANT TO BREAK IT

I hope this helps out anyone who was looking for this answer.

kennzz05 06-04-2012 02:08 AM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
thanks for taking the time to do the write up and take pics, im sure it will be appreciated.Question, if you already had the factory camera why did you have to run another wire back there

eibyer 06-04-2012 08:00 AM

Thanks for the instructions. Does the OEM camera not flip the image to the correct orientation or is that the HU superimposing the caution message.

eibyer 06-04-2012 09:53 AM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
One more question. So if I get the OEM camera, the end connector of it will look like the one in picture #7?

CatMan879 06-04-2012 08:36 PM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
1. I had to run another wire back there because honestly I did not know where the stock radio received the signal.

2. The stock camera does flip the image it is just the head unit causing the caution message.

3. Yes the OEM camera does have this connector if you buy it afterwards.

Sher Judge 06-13-2012 05:46 PM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
Thanks, great DIY.

eibyer 06-18-2012 04:50 PM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
Back for another question. The PAC C2R-CHY4 harness has a 'reverse trigger' wire, could this be used as alternative to running a wire all the way to the back for the reverse power?

Edit: Ok, I answered my own Q, have to tap to white with light green :)

RageOfFury 02-25-2013 09:48 AM

I'm looking at doing this on my WK2. The OEM camera has 3 wires: signal, shield and return. I'm guessing you tapped into the signal and shield wires and left the return disconnected?

sully83699 03-09-2014 05:01 PM

Bumping a old thread if someone could please help me with doing this if you have the rear dvd. My 22pin connector is completely different. I have green and orange in pin 4 and no black and green.... help!@$!#

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

CatMan879 03-16-2014 09:55 PM

Check out Wkjeeps.com you should beable to find the correct wires there

sully83699 03-16-2014 10:37 PM

I figured it out. Took awhile. Posted write up on red site

Sergei Berezin 04-27-2014 02:56 PM

Re: How to: Connect Factory Back up Camera to Aftermarket Head Unit
 
... may be a stupid question, but what's the red site?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community