Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Sirius presets controlled by wheel (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/sirius-presets-controlled-by-wheel-43260.html)

ctrlbrk 06-12-2012 03:42 AM

Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Hi guys, I have a 2012 JGC Overland. I have saved multiple Sirius stations as presets, but when I use the up/down paddle on the steering wheel, it does not flip from one favorite to the next. Instead, if I am on channel 9, it just goes to channel 10 (not in my favorites).

What am I missing? Surely there is a way to flip between presets?

AAAA 06-12-2012 06:16 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ctrlbrk (Post 642122)
Hi guys, I have a 2012 JGC Overland. I have saved multiple Sirius stations as presets, but when I use the up/down paddle on the steering wheel, it does not flip from one favorite to the next. Instead, if I am on channel 9, it just goes to channel 10 (not in my favorites).

What am I missing? Surely there is a way to flip between presets?

Try repeatedly pushing the button in the center of the toggle (up/down) switches.

billyp 06-12-2012 06:18 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Push the middle button on the left hand switch,not the up-down.

peckmv 06-12-2012 06:18 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ctrlbrk (Post 642122)
Hi guys, I have a 2012 JGC Overland. I have saved multiple Sirius stations as presets, but when I use the up/down paddle on the steering wheel, it does not flip from one favorite to the next. Instead, if I am on channel 9, it just goes to channel 10 (not in my favorites).

What am I missing? Surely there is a way to flip between presets?

This is one of the many flaws of the RHR radio. Mine is the same. If you have the presets displayed and use the steering wheel button it just scrolles up or down thru all stations, not the presets. You have to change the presets on the screen only.;)

Jdsmitty10 06-12-2012 06:26 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
I can change mine with the middle button on the left side. But u can only go up(or down on the screen) which is annoying.. I wish u could use the up/down for the presets so I dont have to scroll thru all of them to get to a preset right before the one I'm listening to..

JVBW0527 06-12-2012 08:03 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
I was actually going to post this exact same question! It's very annoying, and kind of funny at the same time how if i want to go from channel 3(preset) to channel 8 (preset) i have to go through 4,5,6, and 7!....LOL
I tried the middle button on the left of the steering wheel and it just brought to some random channel in the 100's......LOL

gokart508 06-12-2012 08:09 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Just got my wife an Audi, and it does the same damn thing, scrolls through station numbers and not presets, very dumb.

mr_bots 06-12-2012 06:50 PM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
I like it the way it is. Seek Up/Down on the rocker, preset up in the middle. If I want to go to a low preset I just hit Seek Up then the preset button. I've driven my mom's edge and it drove me crazy that the seek buttons only scroll through presets.

norcal_g 06-13-2012 02:17 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mr_bots (Post 642469)
I like it the way it is. Seek Up/Down on the rocker, preset up in the middle. If I want to go to a low preset I just hit Seek Up then the preset button. I've driven my mom's edge and it drove me crazy that the seek buttons only scroll through presets.

I think your proposed method only works if the station you seek up to isn't one of your other presets (in which case the middle button will start at your first preset). If you seek up to your third preset, for example, then the middle button will merely move you to your fourth preset. At least this is how mine works.

Tybalt39 06-13-2012 10:52 AM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
To summarize (steering-wheel controls)

Scroll UP/DOWN: Steps through the available channels
Center button: Steps-UP through your preset channels

This is also how mine works. If you don't have a lot of favorites to preset, then fill the extra "spaces" with repeats of your favorites in random order to minimize the number of button-presses needed to find a station.

Jdsmitty10 06-14-2012 03:57 PM

Re: Sirius presets controlled by wheel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mr_bots (Post 642469)
I like it the way it is. Seek Up/Down on the rocker, preset up in the middle. If I want to go to a low preset I just hit Seek Up then the preset button. I've driven my mom's edge and it drove me crazy that the seek buttons only scroll through presets.

I just discovered this the other day. Presses seek up out of a preset to a none preset channel then hit middle preset button and it put me at preset one. A quick way to get back there


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community