Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   tire pressure sensors (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/tire-pressure-sensors-4370.html)

wells747 11-29-2009 02:40 PM

tire pressure sensors
 
Hi
I have a 2000 grand cherokee WJ and I have fitted tyre pressure sensers with a new EVIC but I can't seem to pair the sensers with the EVIC I have done the dionostic check and it says the EVIC is OK but shows the tyre sensers are faulty or missing but they are new can any one help with what I am doing wrong

roger

Milous 11-29-2009 03:09 PM

Re: Tyre Pressure Sensers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wells747 (Post 108026)
Hi
I have a 2000 grand cherokee WJ and I have fitted tyre pressure sensers with a new EVIC but I can't seem to pair the sensers with the EVIC I have done the dionostic check and it says the EVIC is OK but shows the tyre sensers are faulty or missing but they are new can any one help with what I am doing wrong

Are you following the proper procedure with the training magnet? Do you have the correct sensors installed?

Chuck 11-29-2009 04:49 PM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
If you don't have a TMPS training Magnet (not sure if its very specific magnet) but you will need that to program the magnets.

Magnet Part #:52109664AA
(Similar to Miller Special Tool 8821)

According to WJJeeps.com

"10. Training / Retraining the tire sensors: The sensor transmitters can easily be retrained by anyone and takes just a couple of minutes to complete. The special magnet tool used for retraining is included with those vehicles in which the factory has installed the TPMS option. The magnet can also be purchased for around $25, otherwise a pair of 6" or so speakers with good size magnets will do the trick.
1. On the overhead console, use the "Menu" button to advance to the "Retrain" option in the EVIC menu.
2. When "Yes" is selected, training will begin, starting with the left front tire.
3. Place the special magnet momentarily on each valve stem, one at a time, in clockwise order (LF, RF, RR, LR, Spare). You'll have 60 seconds to place the magnet on the first tire stem and 30 seconds for each of the other four, the spare being last. As each tire location is "learned", there is a confirming horn chirp. It may take 5-10 seconds for the confirming chirp once the magnet is placed on each stem. That's it, the correct tire pressure will now be displayed for the corresponding tires and the TPMS is fully functional.

Note that for aftermarket steel wheels the training magnet cannot be used and that a 125kHz transponder is necessary to retrain the EVIC to the sensors. This process can be done by the dealer with a DRB-III tool. The ID's of each sensor must be written down and assigned a location (LF, RF, RR, LR, SP). They are then rewritten to tell the EVIC which position each sensor is in."



ctgranite 09-07-2010 11:13 AM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
Will this training Magnet work for the 07. I only have the standard TMPS. I got new ones for JK Moab wheels. Not currently installed on the Jeep yet.

robpp 09-07-2010 11:41 AM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ctgranite (Post 264240)
Will this training Magnet work for the 07. I only have the standard TMPS. I got new ones for JK Moab wheels. Not currently installed on the Jeep yet.

no. 07 needs no magnet. just move from oem wheels to moab wheels.

ctgranite 09-07-2010 12:59 PM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
Thanks.....

ctgranite 09-07-2010 03:48 PM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
I wanted to leave the stock tire and wheels togeather as a spare set, and install new TPMS in the MOAB wheels. The ones I bought are the same part number. Do I have to do anything to them to activate them?

robpp 09-07-2010 04:25 PM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
you can do that as well. add 4. thats what i did. it takes a few miles for them to learn the new ones when i switch but no issues.

i added 4 oem ones without issue. not sure on some aftermarket ones........

and YES, be sure of the paert number. there are like 3 different frequencies.

ctgranite 09-08-2010 06:22 AM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
Cool...... Thanks

militition 10-05-2010 03:52 PM

Re: tyre pressure sensers
 
magnaflow
Quote:

Posted by carwaesSo you have a set of high flows and a set of gutted stock cats? If so, I really hope you got EVERY piece of catalyst out of those pre cats. If not, then chunks of it can and will remove them selfs and go directly down stream to the high flows and cause you problems. Gutting a cat is never a good idea, for a few reasons.
where is the cheapest place to get it?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community