Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips/DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/)
-   -   Air compressor install (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/air-compressor-install-43733.html)

josh3008 06-22-2012 08:25 PM

Air compressor install
 
9 Attachment(s)
Since my last trip to Hedland I have been wanting to install my compressor in the car full time and have an air tank so I have compressed air ready all the time.
It took me a while to find a tank that I could use and a place for the compressor to mount.

I decided to fit the airtank underneath at the rear and designed and made a bracket to suit(pic 1,2,3)
I ran power from the battery through a 70amp circuit breaker to the rear of the vehicle into a white box which will become my power distribution box for any future installs. The grey box is the control box for the the compressor which holds the circuit breaker, and the relay for the pressure switch. (pic 4,5,6)

The compressor is mounted in between the outer panel and the inner panel of the rear quarter panel, made up a little bracket to support it and had a great time doing the bolts up that are right at the back. (pic 7)

Took inspiration from JDubya’s post on how to convert the switch blanks from blanks to actual switches, converted 4 of the blanks one each for the compressor, fridge, spotlights, and a spare. (pic8,9)

No the install is complete I am looking at putting a second battery underneath as well as I don’t like carrying things permanently inside the car. This install took me about a week to complete .

savvas 06-23-2012 04:08 AM

Re: Air compressor install
 
Awesome piece of work. I was wondering where I can put a compressor, so this is great inspiration.

AAAA 06-23-2012 06:42 AM

Re: Air compressor install
 
Wow! But should be a factory option, at least on QL equipped Jeeps.

josh3008 06-23-2012 09:07 PM

Re: Air compressor install
 
If only the Factory QL didn't run a closed circuit. :(

BobT 06-23-2012 09:32 PM

Re: Air compressor install
 
Great job! I'll think about something like that when my cheapy portable dies.

jcarone 07-01-2012 11:00 PM

Anyone have the link to the post on the switches? I have searched around and am not finding it.....jdubya posts are plentiful....

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2

jcarone 07-01-2012 11:26 PM

Never mind - found it: http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/how-to-activate-a-switch-blank-08-radar-detector-hardwire-remote-mute-leds-9907.html

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community