Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/)
-   -   265/70/17 with no rubbing? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/265-70-17-with-no-rubbing-43912.html)

dane.p 06-26-2012 08:06 PM

265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
will that tire, without wheel spacers, rub against that stupid bolt

dane.p 06-26-2012 09:19 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
id rather not spend another 200 bucks on wheel spacers :/

Matthyou10 06-27-2012 10:15 AM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
nice

tfranzone 06-27-2012 12:50 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dane.p (Post 648542)
will that tire, without wheel spacers, rub against that stupid bolt

Nope. You'll need some spacers. Unless you wanna trim the bolt down.. some do it, but it's not recommended. Do it right the first time around and you'll be happpier.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dane.p (Post 648578)
id rather not spend another 200 bucks on wheel spacers :/

if you wanna save yourself a little $, you could check out CJ Bargains on Ebay.. carries WK 1.5" spacers for around $130 shipped..apparently is really fast as well.

Good luck
-Tim

Escape 06-27-2012 10:15 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
265/65/17 is the tallest you can go even with trimming the bolt down to the nut. A 265/70/17 will hit even trimmed.

This is a pic of my old 265/65/17 BFG TA KO's

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...F/IMG_4413.jpg

You need new rims with the proper offset to run the 265/70 tire. Spacers are always a bad idea and trimming the bolt is fine.

Luck 06-28-2012 04:28 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tfranzone (Post 648835)
if you wanna save yourself a little $, you could check out CJ Bargains on Ebay.. carries WK 1.5" spacers for around $130 shipped..apparently is really fast as well.

Good luck
-Tim

Are those hubcentric? I bought my 1.5" RC spacers (hubcentric) from RC on eBay for $122 shipped. I would check them out first IMO.

Luck 06-28-2012 04:33 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
I have a question for you guys who have trimmed the bolt. How on earth are you going to get those nuts back on the next time you have to remove them? When I put mine back on after installing my lift, I had to use a wrench on that nub to hold the bolt in place while I spun the nut back on, otherwise it was just spinning with the nut.

dane.p 06-28-2012 10:17 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
Aw fudge. Alright, ill just put it on bill me later lol

Escape 06-29-2012 12:07 AM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Luck (Post 649366)
I have a question for you guys who have trimmed the bolt. How on earth are you going to get those nuts back on the next time you have to remove them? When I put mine back on after installing my lift, I had to use a wrench on that nub to hold the bolt in place while I spun the nut back on, otherwise it was just spinning with the nut.

Air tools FTW!

Get it started by hand until you can't spin it anymore. Apply pressure to the upper control arm. Zip it tight with the air tool then tighten it to spec with the torque wrench. Release pressure. Done. :thumbsup:

mTBrunner83 06-29-2012 12:50 AM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
I have 265/65R17 tires didn't need to trim the bolt at all. No rubbing and enough clearance.

2005JGC 06-29-2012 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Luck (Post 649366)
I have a question for you guys who have trimmed the bolt. How on earth are you going to get those nuts back on the next time you have to remove them? When I put mine back on after installing my lift, I had to use a wrench on that nub to hold the bolt in place while I spun the nut back on, otherwise it was just spinning with the nut.

If you use a ratchet strap and pull the taper into its seat it will typically hold itself.... That is if you dont have air tools as suggested.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

mTBrunner83 06-29-2012 08:38 PM

Re: 265/70/17 with no rubbing?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 2005JGC (Post 649546)
If you use a ratchet strap and pull the taper into its seat it will typically hold itself.... That is if you dont have air tools as suggested.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

That is something I will remember next time. Thanks for that tip. I used vise grips on the bolt myself.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community