Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips/DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/)
-   -   **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/how-to-add-a-ported-tb-to-your-3-6-v6-44084.html)

Scottina06 06-30-2012 01:54 PM

**HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
First unplug the negative terminal from the battery under the passenger seat and remove the engine cover
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball012.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball011.jpg
Second...remove intake resonator tube simply by loosening the worm clamp on the intake box and up at the tb. Also unplug the intake temp sensor. Then pull it out
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball007.jpg
Third....remove the main plug from the the TB and unclip the harness from the tb.
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball006.jpg
Then remove the 4 t20 torx screws and pull TB off.
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball008.jpg
This is the 80mm tb(left) vs. stock tb(right)
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball009.jpg
80mm TB installed
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball010.jpg
and everything back together
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/t...aseball012.jpg

This literally took me 10 minutes from start to finish! Very easy mod even for beginners! Excellent throttle resposne and the truck pulls harder all through the power band even though its 103 degrees here today!!! Go Pro vids to come soon!

dave2002ti 07-03-2012 03:51 PM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
Torque and hp curves???? 40 to70mph times??? 0-70mph times? 1/4 times??

Back when FI first came out Big bore throttle bodies were the rage for watercooled VWs and BMWs in the late 70's. Problem was the the TB was progressive and they came out with a single large opening that excelled at peak numbers but on the street and in the real world these TBs hurt performance.

Its the area under the curves that's important.

So any real world numbers????? That can be verified???

armoredsaint 07-11-2012 10:34 AM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
are you sure it's not butt dyno or disconnecting the battery made it reset the parameters until it re-learns again like a CAI? ;)

Scottina06 07-11-2012 10:40 AM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dave2002ti (Post 651457)
Torque and hp curves???? 40 to70mph times??? 0-70mph times? 1/4 times??

Back when FI first came out Big bore throttle bodies were the rage for watercooled VWs and BMWs in the late 70's. Problem was the the TB was progressive and they came out with a single large opening that excelled at peak numbers but on the street and in the real world these TBs hurt performance.

Its the area under the curves that's important.

So any real world numbers????? That can be verified???


what do you think buddy? Do you think I have an awd dyno in my garage and a 1/4 mile track in my backyard? LOL

Quote:

Originally Posted by armoredsaint (Post 655005)
are you sure it's not butt dyno or disconnecting the battery made it reset the parameters until it re-learns again like a CAI? ;)

Very sure bro! Not my first vehicle or go around modding a vehicle.:thumbsup::sleepy: I drove it again last evening and throttle response is very improved....revs quicker and is a little quicker off the line.

MotorCityMike 08-28-2012 10:07 PM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
Hey Scott, which vendor did you go w/ for your TB?

Scottina06 08-28-2012 10:19 PM

I have a fastman tb....burning highly suggest flyinryan here on the forums

hububub46 09-10-2012 07:10 PM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
hmmm, might I suggest next time... BUY THE HEMI... fastman just made some more "fast cash"...LOL.. why buy something under powered, then spend thousands trying to make it something it will never be! LOL

Scottina06 09-10-2012 07:14 PM

Moot point....I got my $47k durango for free.....lol

Fredg369 09-10-2012 07:26 PM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
:cool: Horsepower to weight ratio = save your money Scott....LoL :slapfight:

subbie09 09-10-2012 07:32 PM

umm I enjoy my v6. I do not feel it is underpowered in anyway.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using Tapatalk 2

Scottina06 09-10-2012 07:55 PM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fredg369 (Post 681854)
:cool: Horsepower to weight ratio = save your money Scott....LoL :slapfight:


I dont care..I enjoy tinkering! Its good entertainment...keeps me off JG!:eek:

Ahujadaddy 04-23-2013 07:59 AM

Re: **HOW TO** add a ported TB to your 3.6 V6!
 
Thanks for posting this Scott... not sure where all these comments are coming from. This is the DIY section! Very helpful for those considering installing this


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community