Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/wk-double-din-stereo-with-external-amplifiers-44876.html)

Muddy4DSM 07-18-2012 07:56 AM

WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
I am in the process of collecting parts needed to install a double din in my 06 Limited. I already have the factory stereo running off of two external amps that I have tapped signal off of the outputs of the BA amplifier. I wasnít able to the all the signal I needed in the right places so itís kinda jacked up as to where my channels are at the moment (which bugs me having to halfass the install so far) so I will be replacing with 3 runs of RCA cables. While searching for parts, Iíve found that the wiring harnesses available are more expensive because of the CANBUS encoding to communicate with the factory amplifier. My question is do I need to CANBUS wiring harness if Iím going to run my entire signal via RCA cables? If not, has anyone done this installation and know what part numbers I should be looking for on the harness? Might as well save myself $50+ if I canÖ

Muddy4DSM 07-23-2012 02:41 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
Bump...

Kolbenschlag 11-07-2012 11:53 AM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
Did you ever figure out an answer to your problem? I too will be running external amps and have everything ready to go and was wondering what you ended up doing because like you said might as well save 50$ if possible, any part number to the harness used would be awesome,or did you just hard wire the double din?

Muddy4DSM 11-07-2012 12:49 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
I haven't gotten to that point yet, still working on randomly picking up the other things I need - antenna converter, microphone, plastic install kit, and other stuff like that. Each time I'm on amazon I do some more searching but haven't pulled the trigger on anything yet. If you decide to move forward, please post up. I don't think I get to install the stereo until spring (MBA courses through February) but if I make any progress I'll keep this thread updated.

Kolbenschlag 11-08-2012 11:32 AM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
Yeah I am still picking up a few thing here and there too, in a huge debate about what sub/subs I want, I'm a youth pastor and have to have all my space in the back and my kids get pretty rowdy so false floor is a must and might have to come up with some protection for the subs too, but what I was thinking on wiring was taking 12v power from the right lighter socket and ignition from the left lighter then running a ground which is easy then the amp signal and rca's so my thought was getting a clip from some vehicle I have sitting around with 4 wires to and from and wiring the male end to the nav unit and the female end to the other said places, that way removal and reinstalling wont be difficult.

swing4terps 11-08-2012 03:25 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
I'd be willing to sell just the component pieces if you've already got a radio/bezel. Being able to get rid of the components enables me to sell the radio to anyone. Let me know if you're interested.

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f12/kenwoo...nts-47171.html

Kolbenschlag 11-08-2012 10:37 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
yeah I have a radio bezel but I have the wrong color would you be willing to trade bezels since you are selling it anyways? how much would you want for the components?

Madanio24 11-08-2012 10:50 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
You currently have it tapped into the factory wiring with no aftermarket headunit? I am using the monster cabling which has all 3 components in one cable which is very nice. I am using a 4 channel alpine pdx for all my door channels with 100watts rms. and an older alpine mono for my sub.

Muddy4DSM 11-08-2012 10:53 PM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Madanio24 (Post 708890)
You currently have it tapped into the factory wiring with no aftermarket headunit? I am using the monster cabling which has all 3 components in one cable which is very nice. I am using a 4 channel alpine pdx for all my door channels with 100watts rms. and an older alpine mono for my sub.

Yeah, tapped into the wire outputs from the BA amp using a line converter. Pretty ugly and would be embarrassing to show off compared to what I've done in the past but it's just a temporary solution til I can get my head unit figured out and installed. Sounds like you went the Alpine route too. What head unit are you running and what type of harness did you use (did you have to bypass the factory amp?)?

Madanio24 11-09-2012 12:09 AM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
I am using the alpine ina-w910. Its a double din i love it. I used an axxess harness and i have bypassed the factory amp. I had to get the wiring harness, dash kit, and double din bezel for it to work. It sounds a millllllion times better IMO and gets super loud! haha

Muddy4DSM 11-09-2012 12:19 AM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
That's awesome. I wanted one of those newer Alpines but had to settle for a Pioneer unit that's a few years old. It's the newer interface, but not the latest and greatest. Do you by chance have the part number for that harness or can you provide a link? I already have the dash kit and the new dbl din Jeep radio cover piece so I think that's the last piece to my puzzle in order to complete the setup and be ready for install!

Just out of curiosity, what did you do with your amps? Where do you have them installed?

Madanio24 11-09-2012 12:37 AM

Re: WK Double Din stereo with external amplifiers?
 
I installed them on the back of seats in the trunk. I want to relocate them eventually but I have to find out where to put my second battery first lol. Mine looks like this Axxess CHTO-013 (chto013) Amplifier Interface Harness for Select since I upgraded to different amps I ignore the rcas.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community