Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Technical Tips/DIY/How-To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/)
-   -   Sway bar bolt wont go in (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/sway-bar-bolt-wont-go-in-46155.html)

jeremyc653 08-15-2012 04:21 PM

Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
Sway bar bolt number 7 wont go in the one that connects to the lower control arm to the sway bar u can get a little then it just stops even after a few turns with a cheater bar http://img.tapatalk.com/6403719b-12d4-3ebe.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/6403719b-12df-aff7.jpg

Verminator 08-16-2012 01:59 AM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
Does it come to a dead stop like it's bottoming out on something or does it just get too hard to turn? If it's too hard to turn, you probably cross-threaded the hole, which is quite easy on those LCA's. The cheapest solution is probably to go and buy a tap that's the correct size and re-tap the hole. If not, I think a new LCA is a few hundred dollars.

That's my guess. It happened to me.

jeremyc653 08-16-2012 02:02 AM

Ya im going to have a shop do it today while they do the alignment they are cross threaded

brentwoodkris 08-16-2012 09:06 AM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
This happened when we were doing the struts on my Dad's khaki WK. Turned out that the bolt was more screwed up than the mating hole on the LCA, so pulled the bolt, ordered a new one from the dealer (that came in the next day), and then with the aid of an impact wrench, sent her home for good. Hopefully we'll never have to remove that bolt again (or I'll just send it to the shop and say that they stripped it ;) )

jeremyc653 08-16-2012 10:50 AM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
just order jks quick disconnects

Verminator 08-25-2012 02:03 PM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremyc653 (Post 671335)
just order jks quick disconnects

That's the way to do it. Keep in mind that the disconnects don't go all the way in and sit flush by default. What I had to do is take a 1/2" drill to the LCA's threads and drill in about 1/4" of a counterbore so that the flat on the disconnect bolt would be able to sit flush. You'll probably see what I'm talking about when you get them. Make sure to put loctite on the threads too! I had one come off from road vibration and the other was loose. Had to reorder the stud and that's when I decided to also drill out a counterbore for thread relief.

jeremyc653 09-19-2012 08:23 AM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
I see what you mean. I just screwed them in with loctite and used a screw driver to torque them down. I ended up re threading the hole well my father in law did. He did it 4 or 5 times and started using wd40 because there was something wrong at the begin of the of threads. all in now and so far no problems. we did re thread the bolts and all the holes. This was my first time with a tap and die man they are really use full.

Crashtown 09-24-2012 04:13 PM

Re: Sway bar bolt wont go in
 
Was the vehicle in the air with the suspension uncompressed? The swaybars line up better when the vehicle is at ride height. It can be a PITA with limited elbow room. I've also been told that it's the proper way to torque the bolts down because they can work themselves loose otherwise.

jeremyc653 09-25-2012 08:45 PM

It was on ground there was somrthing messing with us finally went in though


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community