Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   "Guide me to a name" no workee??? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/guide-me-to-a-name-no-workee-46229.html)

CaptRB 08-17-2012 05:25 PM

"Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
Okay....struggling with the voice input. 730 Media center on a new 2012 Overland and....

"Guide me to a name" just does not work. It almost always says it can't find directions. If I say "Find McDonalds" it just asks if I want a route there without showing me any locations. If I say "Starbucks" it won't find it at all.

Using the "Find" command only allows me to choose through lists and it's very tough to use.

All I want to be able to do is say "Best Buy" or "JFK Airport" and see the locations closest to me just like on my 160 dollar Garmin!

Any help on this would be hugely appreciated. I already fought my way through the issue where it gave 30 "village inn" locations when I said "Find POI" instead of just "Find."

Good lord. So far this Nav system is bugging me. If you TYPE into it the results are GREAT, but I'm getting nuts over the voice control!:mad:

Thanks!



Robert

77Cherokee 08-17-2012 06:25 PM

Re: "Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
The "find" command is probably the least useful function on the 730n RHR radio. When it works, it is a great quick-search tool. Unfortunately it has many quirks. Hopefully, the new update next month will make it more reliable.

CaptRB 08-18-2012 06:11 AM

Re: "Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
The problem is that it NEVER works. I have yet to get anything out of it. If I say FIND MCDONALDS with inexplicably shows me nothing and then asks if I want to route there. If I say yes it will go into an endless loop where the route progress indicator just goes again and again until I cancel. So-so functionality is one thing, but this does not work at all.

I find it hard to believe that the NAV system is so bad after 2 years of production. Taking it to the dealer today. It's not acceptable.

Robert

noahchanin 08-18-2012 06:29 AM

Re: "Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
Mine sucks too. No matter what I say to it it always shows me a list of "Village Inn" locations. Did Chrysler buy Village Inn and this is their way of drumming up biz?

andyh 08-18-2012 07:15 AM

Re: "Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
lol, I feel you pain. This is why a travel with my Garmin stuck to the windshield.

77Cherokee 08-19-2012 09:33 AM

Re: "Guide me to a name" no workee???
 
It's interesting that some of these units work differently than others. I would bet they are from different production runs and have different components.

CaptRB, sounds like you definitely need a new unit.

Noahchanin, do a search for my thread entitled "Goodbye Village Inn". It may help with your problem.

HYTEK 08-19-2012 10:09 AM

We experienced this for the first time last night trying to find a CVS. Extremely annoying to say the least. This update thats coming out, does it require going to the dealership or can I do it myself?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community