Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WJ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f51/)
-   -   putting aftermarket lsd or selectable lockers on a quadra trac 2 help (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f51/putting-aftermarket-lsd-or-selectable-lockers-on-a-quadra-trac-2-help-47907.html)

02WJLTD 09-25-2012 07:33 AM

putting aftermarket lsd or selectable lockers on a quadra trac 2 help

debating on LSD or selectable lockers.... my 4.7L is a daily driver but i want the ease of mind to where if i need either of them they are available to help me get out of a jam... snow,sand,mud,or whatever else is out there. i have quadra trac 2. i have open differential that i am aware of. i am new to all this jeep stuff so im trying to get suggestions.. will different differential fluid need be used. what are the pros and cons to having or not having and are either compatible with the QT2 system? oh yea i will do some weekend wheeling also

thanks for your time

Trav1s 09-25-2012 08:22 AM

Re: putting aftermarket lsd or selectable lockers on a quadra trac 2 help

What type of weekend wheeling do you do? Oversized tires?

Frango100 09-26-2012 10:31 AM

Would it not be easiest to get some Vari-Loc differentials from a Quadra Drive jeep? You could maybe even get the complete front and rear axles.

Trav1s 09-26-2012 11:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frango100 (Post 688700)
Would it not be easiest to get some Vari-Loc differentials from a Quadra Drive jeep? You could maybe even get the complete front and rear axles.

That was my initial though but decided additional info might be helpful. :D

02WJLTD 09-26-2012 05:57 PM

my closes junk yard has the front left axle shaft and the front right axle shaft (for the vari-loc) but nothing for the rear... do i need the gears out of the differential also?