Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/)
-   -   TPMS question for second set of wheels (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/tpms-question-for-second-set-of-wheels-49254.html)

amill 10-23-2012 08:45 AM

TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
I was searching through some threads about whether or not the sensors need to be paired to the vehicle each time. It seems like they will automatically sync up with the ecu after driving for awhile. Is this still true for the 2012 models? The reason I ask is because I have the factory 20" wheels on my summit. I was reading that there are two different types of sensors available. One displays a tpms light when psi is low and the premium displays psi of each tire.
The wheels and sensors I'm getting are from a laredo x. Does anyone know if these are the premium sensors or the base sensors? My dealer told me I'd have to most likely resync the sensors with the ecu each time I swap wheels. Anyone know the answer?

Thanks.

petebooth 10-23-2012 10:46 AM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
My 2012 Laredo X has the premium TPMS. Sorry have no idea about Sync

Aiyer 10-23-2012 11:01 AM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
I bought a set of wheels/tires that were on a 2012 JKU. No TPMS. I bought a set of TPMS (OEM) for $69 incl shipping from the auction site, got them installed and it works great. I swap the wheels and the Jeep instantly recognizes and displays the pressures on the EVIC.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Aiyer

amill 10-23-2012 11:34 AM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Aiyer (Post 701323)
I bought a set of wheels/tires that were on a 2012 JKU. No TPMS. I bought a set of TPMS (OEM) for $69 incl shipping from the auction site, got them installed and it works great. I swap the wheels and the Jeep instantly recognizes and displays the pressures on the EVIC.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Aiyer

This definitely helps. I wasn't sure if the description given on wk2jeeps regarding the two different types of sensors meant that there were different sensors used between trim levels.

How hard were the sensors to install? I'm assuming you just thread them onto the valve stem and thats it correct?

Aiyer 10-23-2012 02:12 PM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
I did not do the install myself... took it to Discount Tire and they charged $20 for installing in all 4 wheels, balancing them and installing the new set of wheels on my Jeep.

Here is the thread I started few months ago with similar questions.

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/tpms-...ion-44276.html

ColdCase 10-23-2012 03:02 PM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
All WK2 wheel sensors are the same, although the STR-8 may be a bit different. . The base receivers in the WK2 provide a simple warning, the premium receivers display the actual PSI.

The tire shop can reset the sensors or you drive 5-20 minutes and they reset themselves. I swap between a set of winter and summer wheel/tires and have had no issues.

My premium system will display the previous PSI sample reading for maybe 5 minutes before sampling and displaying the new tire pressures. It appears to be instant, but it is not really.

Same thing for most Jeeps, like my older KK. There are two sensor frequencies in use across the Jeep line, but all WKs use the higher frequency. There are several other chrysler vehicles that use the same sensors.

amill 10-24-2012 06:32 AM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
Thanks for the help guys. This may be a dumb question, but I won't have any issues if I'm transporting the new wheels/tires in the trunk? Will both sensors try and communicate causing any issues?

ColdCase 10-24-2012 08:08 AM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
These tire sensors do not appear to transmit a signal unless they are rolling. I've transported a set a couple times without issue. The WK2 spare is not checked.

amill 10-24-2012 04:44 PM

Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColdCase (Post 701821)
These tire sensors do not appear to transmit a signal unless they are rolling. I've transported a set a couple times without issue. The WK2 spare is not checked.

good info. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community