Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/need-to-tap-into-battery-for-amp-recommendations-49412.html)

eibyer 10-26-2012 01:17 PM

need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
I'm getting ready to wire my amp and I now to tap into the battery for power. In my previous SUV, I used a terminal like this. Is there an easier/better way? Last time, it took me forever to get the cable in :)

blackxj 10-27-2012 12:28 AM

Re: need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
i just ran some 4 guage with a big ass ring terminal crimped and soldered . i didnt feel like changing the end of the factory cable and regretted it. while the "idea" with the factory connector seemed cool compared to the older cars i had, it was problematic with minimal rotational room and then the connection stud cross threaded which then broke free and spun when trying to unscrew the nut (fully my fault) which i had to hammer out and put in a bolt.
i personally think it would be a good idea to change the battery clamp to something else more durable for future mods. however with battery pushed so far forward it would be a good idea to measure the space on top and what area there is for cable placement depending on wire size. all that room but it still feels tight in there after you connect the wiring and slide it back into place to lock it down.

eibyer 10-27-2012 08:34 AM

Thanks for the feedback. I honestly have not even checked what the battery compartment looks like. I will do that today when I install my camera, again.

eibyer 10-30-2012 11:02 AM

Re: need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
Will something like this post insert be sufficient to power a 150 watt amplifier?

ekaz 10-30-2012 11:26 AM

Re: need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eibyer (Post 704695)
Will something like this post insert be sufficient to power a 150 watt amplifier?

No...you need a ring terminal for a power wire. Get an 8 gauge (4 preferably) amp kit, it will have a ring terminal already on the power wire.

eibyer 10-30-2012 04:59 PM

K, found some decent priced kit online. You wouldn't happen to know where to tap an LOC? I need two channels for my sub.

ekaz 10-30-2012 08:49 PM

Re: need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eibyer (Post 704859)
K, found some decent priced kit online. You wouldn't happen to know where to tap an LOC? I need two channels for my sub.

Rear speaker output of the amp in the rear quarter panel. wk2jeeps should have all the pinouts you need.

eibyer 10-30-2012 11:12 PM

Mine is the base Laredo E with 6 speakers. I'm not sure where I read it, it mentioned to tap the front speaker output because it's full range signal. Or maybe that won't matter since I'm downgrading the signal to line level and want only the lows?

eibyer 11-01-2012 10:38 AM

Re: need to tap into battery for amp -- recommendations?
 
Found this previous post by another member, might be of use to someone looking for information in the future.

Wk2 Audio Wiring Schematics
http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/wk2-a...tml#post414994

HemiDawg 11-01-2012 10:51 AM

The instructions for the WK Kicker sub instruct you to tap into the front door speaker.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community