Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Brake Controllers (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/brake-controllers-51007.html)

denis4x4 12-01-2012 11:53 AM

Brake Controllers
 
Just got my '13 WK2 with the tow package and it included a pigtail for the brake controller. Curious to know what others are using and if there are plug and play aftermarket connectors as the one supplied by Jeep only has a connector at one end.

andyh 12-01-2012 01:33 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
Start with this thread

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/elect...ler-30574.html

Jim_in_PA 12-01-2012 06:38 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
The thread that Andy mentions will be useful.

Tekonshia P-3 (from etrailer.com) is what I chose and I bought their "plug and play" pigtail so I didn't have to do anything except plug in both ends. Total install time was about 10 minutes, including pre-drilling for the mounting screws.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ntroller-1.jpg

Alphainfinity 12-01-2012 10:41 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA (Post 718330)
The thread that Andy mentions will be useful.

Tekonshia P-3 (from etrailer.com) is what I chose and I bought their "plug and play" pigtail so I didn't have to do anything except plug in both ends. Total install time was about 10 minutes, including pre-drilling for the mounting screws.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ntroller-1.jpg

I towed horses and livestock with that controller, great controller.

Jim_in_PA 12-02-2012 05:53 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
Horsies for me, Alpha'...and yea, I'm really happy with this controller.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...iler/tow-3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...iler/tow-1.jpg

Alaska-HWY JK 12-02-2012 06:05 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
Can you reach the controller where it's mounted while driving?

Jim_in_PA 12-02-2012 07:11 PM

Re: Brake Controllers
 
Yes, it's not too bad to reach if I really need to (and I have long arms), although I don't tend to do that while I'm moving. Below is another picture for perspective. I think that if I needed to adjust it more frequently and/or when moving, I'd want it mounted higher. But it would be harder to see in that respect. Some folks have installed it in the bin in the center console, but that does require making your own cable as the pre-terminated one will not reach that far.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ntroller-2.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community