Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Diesel Powered 2012+ Export Grand Cherokee (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f157/)
-   -   Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f157/throttle-intercept-module-pedal-torq-51193.html)

savvas 12-05-2012 07:41 PM

Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
I've just been looking through the December 2012 issue of "4WD Touring Australia", and on page 79 I came across an ad for a company called Torqit.

One of the items advertised is something called Pedal Torq which is a module that piggybacks on the throttle position sensor and is said to eliminate throttle response delays. A lot of us know that this can be a bit of an issue on our CRD's.

They are $428 incl GST .... but not available for the GC yet. They are planning to have one, but no timeframe at the moment.

Their website isnt complete yet, but it should be shown here sometime in the future - Torqit

Sounds interesting and it would be interesting to see if it also has any effect on transmission kickdowns. Has anyone heard of any similar devices?

Swampy 12-05-2012 08:55 PM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
On our CRD, I've never had a throttle response delay. Never had turbo lag as do other makes with their CRD unit so couldn't see the point.

The transmission could shift down earlier sometimes, but that is purely the 5 spd box.

GlennR 12-05-2012 09:50 PM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Swampy (Post 720406)
On our CRD, I've never had a throttle response delay. Never had turbo lag as do other makes with their CRD unit so couldn't see the point.

The transmission could shift down earlier sometimes, but that is purely the 5 spd box.

Thats interesting. With mine, plant my foot travelling at 60kmh and count to 2 before the turbo spools.

savvas 12-05-2012 09:59 PM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
That's what I'm talking about. You drive it around normally and it's fine. If you plant it, there's literally nothing for half a second or so and then comes the shove in the back and you're off.

I also dont think it's turbo lag that causes that specific delay, because if it was you will get some lower acceleration for a bit until the turbo is up. In this case, it's more like the ecu checking to see "are you really sure you want to do this?". And once it has checked it's "woohoohoo let's go!".

GlennR 12-05-2012 11:07 PM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by savvas (Post 720438)
In this case, it's more like the ecu checking to see "are you really sure you want to do this?". And once it has checked it's "woohoohoo let's go!".

...oh now I get it, the ECU platform is based on Microsoft Windows Vista:lol:

savvas 12-06-2012 12:29 AM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GlennR (Post 720489)
...oh now I get it, the ECU platform is based on Microsoft Windows Vista:lol:

Mate ... we've covered this before ... http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/wk2-d...tml#post637167

GlennR 12-06-2012 02:27 AM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by savvas (Post 720511)
Mate ... we've covered this before ... http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/wk2-d...tml#post637167

Spot on!!!...pull over, close windows....restart car and open windows!!!!!:lol::lol:

Swampy 12-06-2012 06:30 PM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GlennR (Post 720489)
...oh now I get it, the ECU platform is based on Microsoft Windows Vista:lol:

Maybe its windows 8.

What previously took three clicks, now takes . . . . . Six??

ENFORCER 12-09-2012 03:53 AM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
I would try one of the other piggyback ECU's before I spent that amount of coin on something that just fixes a minor problem. From what the others have said the german piggyback at under $300 landed removes the lag and gives you more power. Win / Win

perthpom50 01-16-2013 09:41 AM

Re: Throttle intercept module - Pedal Torq
 
If it was windows something like....... Display error message " An accelerator pedal is asking to go faster. Press pedal to confirm that you want to complete this action." ... should do it


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community