Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f108/)
-   -   Volant CAI Install Issue.... (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f108/volant-cai-install-issue-51411.html)

Hotstik 12-10-2012 07:51 PM

Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Hello All! I'm new here.

I've had my 2013 5.7L WK2 for about a month now and decided to take the plunge and install a Volant CAI system.

The install seemed very straightforward until I went to drop the new airbox in. The volant air box does not clear the ABS hard lines. It looks like the Volant air box needs about an inch more clearance to make things work.

Is this a known issue with the 2013, or am I missing something?

Thanks!

lobos97 12-10-2012 09:40 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Just did mine this weekend on my 2011. Did you leave the factory airbox grommets on the studs? Once I got one of the grommets inserted into the the pre-cut openings in the airbox, I didn't notice it sitting on the brake lines.

Btw, did you notice that you had to add another washer on the supplied bolt in order to properly compress the lock washer?

Hotstik 12-10-2012 09:53 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lobos97 (Post 722804)
Just did mine this weekend on my 2011. Did you leave the factory airbox grommets on the studs? Once I got one of the grommets inserted into the the pre-cut openings in the airbox, I didn't notice it sitting on the brake lines.

Btw, did you notice that you had to add another washer on the supplied bolt in order to properly compress the lock washer?

I made sure that none of the grommets were left on the studs. Removed the one grommet from the factory air box and transferred it to the Volant.

I was able to just start the Volant on the grommet stud before the recessed portion of the box bottomed out on the ABS hard lines. It seems that the recess in the air box needs to extend further up the side of the Volant to clear the lines.

FWIW, the stock air box sits tight against the ABS hard lines.

lobos97 12-10-2012 10:46 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hotstik (Post 722813)
I made sure that none of the grommets were left on the studs. Removed the one grommet from the factory air box and transferred it to the Volant.

I was able to just start the Volant on the grommet stud before the recessed portion of the box bottomed out on the ABS hard lines. It seems that the recess in the air box needs to extend further up the side of the Volant to clear the lines.

FWIW, the stock air box sits tight against the ABS hard lines.

Wow. Let me take a look at my setup. I remember someone else in the forum complaining about Volant since they also said that it sat on the brake lines...

I will let you know.

kkreit01 12-12-2012 12:15 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
There have been fitment issues on the 4th gen Rams also. I like their design, but it seems they need more QC.

ColdCase 12-12-2012 01:25 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Based on posts from months ago, they sometimes put the wrong mounting bracket in the box (too short). If you use the right bracket its a perfect fit. Contact Volant, they will send you the right bracket.

Sinnerram6 12-12-2012 10:08 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
i've always just built my intakes so i dont run into these problems with over priced intakes.

BuckeyeSRT 12-13-2012 03:31 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sinnerram6 (Post 723859)
i've always just built my intakes so i dont run into these problems with over priced intakes.

Help us to understand how this helps a guy in a bind solve his problem?

Hotstik 12-16-2012 06:21 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
3 Attachment(s)
I spoke with Volant, and they've asked me to send them some photos from under my hood. So, hopefully I'll hear back within a few days.

I've attached a few photos.

The first shows the ABS hard lines in relation to the stock air box. It is actually resting on the brake lines.

The second photo shows under the hood with the air box uninstalled.

The third photo shows the Volant CAI in place as far as it will go. The grommet on the bottom of the air box is just barely on the locator post. It looks like it would fit if the brake lines weren't there.

Does any of this look any different than previous model years???

Hotstik 12-17-2012 04:57 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Well........I spoke again with Volant, and after reviewing my photos their is no simple fix to this issue.

Re-clocking the brake lines was suggested, but unfortunately, there just isn't enough room or slack to get them clear of the air box.

The brake lines on my WK2 definitely do sit taller in comparison to the GC that they used to design the air box. So, it would seem there are some inconsistencies coming from the Jeep assembly line.

So, if I want to stick with the Volant system, the best solution seems to be that I need to cut and modify the air box to fit.

I love the Power Core filters, as I've had great luck with them on other vehicles. Not sure if this is worth the hassle though.....

lobos97 12-19-2012 03:00 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
Hi Hotstik, sorry about your fitment problems... I did check on my setup and it seems pretty solid. With that being said, the airbox may well and be touching the brake lines but it seems to be sitting on the grommet as well. I am not sweating having it sit on the brake lines that much if the stock airbox seems close or sitting on them as well.

What is bothering me more is a drone that I am hearing when going even slightly uphill before the tranny downshifts. The Jeep does not sound any different at start-up and sounds great at WOT. I am wondering if all CAIs have the same drone? Since I have not seen any improvement in MPG, maybe having to settle for the quiet stock airbox may not be all that bad.

Hotstik 12-22-2012 06:21 PM

Re: Volant CAI Install Issue....
 
I went ahead and bought the AFE CAI, since its air box design seemed to allow for a lot more brake line clearance.

Unfortunately, it doesn't fit either! :lol:

The same damn brake line is in the way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community