Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   P0700 code (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/p0700-code-52658.html)

spyder873 01-09-2013 02:56 PM

P0700 code
 
I had to re wire the under dash LEDs due to my son constantly knock the strip down but, that's another story , back to the topic at hand.
While I was stripping the passenger side light I accidentally shorted out the wire and blew a fuse ( of course) . When I started her back up I had several codes on the that I cleared. There were 3 in the p0700 range and 2 -p0507( this one I know . Its because the larger throttle body, Ryan and myself are working on this)
Its the 700's that concern me . Could a bad interior light fuse cause this?
I reset the codes and as of now . There is no codes .
Did this happen to anyone else?
Thanks

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

Yillb 01-09-2013 07:08 PM

Re: P0700 code
 
Hey!,

I just wen't through a 700 fanatical ( today actually ) . That code can 100% be caused by a short to the pcm, if it wen't off, it should be fine, mine happened alone ( no other codes ) and all it needed was a fluid top off, and the throttle body was dirty as crap according to dealership. They cleaned it, and topped of my fluids.

all is well here now.. but yes, anything electrical can trigger that, that could mean that the sensors to the tranny are getting under volted. If you get that code, you will feel a physical change in the way the trany acts, even if it' just once. If the truck is driving good, id say it's safe to say this was user error caused, and will probably mean nothing.

spyder873 01-09-2013 09:35 PM

Re: P0700 code
 
Cool , I never encountered a issue like this ,lol. The short of the dash lights would cause a tranny code and for it to act goofy.

When we arrived at soccer , I re flashed the computer with my SCT tuner and it seemed as though it settled down . There were still a few little burps( this seemed to happen when i really hit the gas) but other then that all seemed good.

We drove a hour home , and I screwed around driving around town and it seems ok.

We will see tomorrow. Another Thing I did today was Install SRT pedal kit . This added about 1/4 inch to the pedal height ,so maybe I was hitting the gas differently ? Possible?

after resetting the codes then flashing the computer , All the codes have been gone even the P0507 , so fingers crossed on that .

dr.lee.baugh 01-09-2013 10:23 PM

Re: P0700 code
 
After re-setting and/or re-flashing, the adaptive shifting schedules on the transmission were likely erased.

This usually causes a noticeable change in the way the tranny shifts, and is completely normal. Once it has a chance to learn your driving style again, it should go back to shifting "normally".

As previously mentioned, if the codes haven't returned yet, you're likely in the clear.

spyder873 01-10-2013 08:21 AM

Re: P0700 code
 
I didnt realize it was [I]SOOO[I] sensitive , WOW !! Is there anything that can be done to lessen this? Larger grounding strap? more grounding? To Isolate it some how?

Thanks guys , You have calmed my fears , somewhat ,lol. I will keep you all informed on what happens today

spyder873 01-10-2013 07:20 PM

Re: P0700 code
 
CRAP, took it for a ride tonight and here are the codes that showed
P0700
0732
0731
0733
0734
and my old 0507

I reset the codes after reading them and reset the Computer with the SCT . but the jeep was in limp mode . Turned the key off ,then restarted the engine and all acted normal except if I romped on the gas , Then the codes would appear again. Last time I cleared them there was a 876 code as well

drove home from the car wash and it acted completely normal .

When I bought the jeep , I bought a extended warranty . I am going to call up and make a appointment to get it looked at .

dr.lee.baugh 01-10-2013 09:22 PM

Re: P0700 code
 
Yeah, it sounds like there may be something more going on!


You're getting gear ratio errors in every gear but fifth (The 731-734 codes).

So, for whatever reason the PCM is noticing a mismatch between the input shaft speed and the output shaft speed. Could be a sensor, could be pressure issues, could be internal damage...probably a bunch of other possibilities too! I think, as you've done, you're going to have to book an appointment and get it looked at...at least you have the extended warranty!

spyder873 01-10-2013 09:54 PM

I am just sick that a stupid short of a interior light would cause this . I mean really????
Let's see what they say tomorrow.....

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

kennzz05 01-11-2013 12:13 AM

Re: P0700 code
 
theres a reason all electricial work instructions start with the phrase,"disconnect the battery terminals"

spyder873 01-11-2013 06:51 AM

It still makes no sense.... what happens if a lamp goes bad and shorts or a wire rubs wrong at a door hinge ??? Does that mean the tranny will go bad ???

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

spyder873 01-11-2013 07:45 AM

Looks like we will have to deal with it till Tuesday morning. That's the soonest the dealer can get us in.


Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

Yillb 01-11-2013 08:32 AM

Re: P0700 code
 
The short didn't cause the tranny to go bad. Everything is electronic, by leaving the battery connected while doing what you did, you may have sent a signal to the PCM that had no other way to recognize that signal other than to read those codes.

THe p0700 like i said is a generic code, and there is probably nothing wrong.

Now you know for next time, never work on electronics with the battery terminals connected.

Hope all is well with the jeep!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community