Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Base to 730n (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/base-to-730n-53048.html)

Bostondan77 01-16-2013 01:00 AM

Base to 730n
 
Hope I'm not being repetitive but I'm going from a base radio with u connect radio to a 730n. I do have the USB outlet in arm rest and I am confused because I read that I may need a "jumper". What is this for?

I have been reading its plug and play but what am I gonna need to do this?

Help please!

Scottina06 01-16-2013 02:37 AM

Re: Base to 730n
 
is your mirror uconnect? If so you need the 730n unit and the harness that goes from the 730n, through the dash, up the drivers side pillar to the mirror. I did this on my wifes durango...but it had the 430 rbz or whatever

Chris_IAH 01-16-2013 07:38 AM

Re: Base to 730n
 
Never heard about a "jumper"....but then again I had my 730n installed by the dealership as a part of my deal.

ColdCase 01-16-2013 09:49 AM

Re: Base to 730n
 
Perhaps look at:

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/upgra...30n-51135.html

Bostondan77 01-16-2013 09:08 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
spoke with the parts guy he said ll i need is the cable that scottina told me and thats it since i already have the mirror witht the microphone

Scottina06 01-17-2013 12:36 AM

Re: Base to 730n
 
I did this...the wire is a pain...the rest is easy

Bostondan77 01-17-2013 03:11 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
Scott the part guy said I have remove the u connect module because its in the 730 is that correct?

Racer2c 01-17-2013 03:43 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
I did this upgrade myself. It was confusing until I simply dug in and saw what was going on. The jumper cable bypasses the external UConnect module that is mounted under the dash to the left of driver. The 730N has this built in. I removed the metal bracing in order to get my hand in there to disconnect the cable from the external module.
I also took the plunge and got a Lockpick. Everything was a piece of cake.

This weekend I'm going to tackle installing the OEM backup camera. The dealer said the vehicle needs to be 'flashed'. Not sure why... if anyone knows, please share. I didn't get it flashed after I installed the 730 and everything works. Maybe something to do with the lock on the OEM chrome peice that comes with the camera?

eibyer 01-17-2013 03:54 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
I think if you have a lockpick the camera will be enabled even without a dealer flash. I have aftermarket so can't really confirm.

Scottina06 01-17-2013 05:11 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
sorry bro...not sure there. Mine was in the mirror on the durango

xJoshxx 01-17-2013 05:17 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
OEM Auto Parts Contact these guys AMAZINGly helpful they have been able to program them a way you do not need a lockpick also

Scottina06 01-17-2013 05:44 PM

Re: Base to 730n
 
yep...got mine there too


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community