Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/volume-level-problem-with-aftermarket-headunit-53714.html)

walkin 01-28-2013 12:14 AM

Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit
 
So I had a REC nav system with the amplified factory stereo. I just installed a Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS using a PAC RP4-CH11 adapter. I'm getting some static noise across the radio when the volume is all the way down. I can only turn the radio up to about 6 on the volume setting (max is 50 i believe) before its too loud. I checked everything and it looks like its hooked up right but it seems to be outputting way too loud.

Any thoughts?

Hacksaw 01-28-2013 09:35 AM

Impedance mismatch. Loose connection. Does the factory amp have a selector for preamp level ? Does the head unit have one ?

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

walkin 01-28-2013 10:59 PM

Re: Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit
 
the factory amp is wired through the CAN bus system so no RCA go to it from the head unit. the head unit is hooked up through the speaker wires into the PAC RP4-CH11 which ties it into the CAN bus.

Hacksaw 01-28-2013 11:56 PM

So you are sending line level input to the factory amplifier. Is this the same as the factory head unit ?

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

walkin 01-29-2013 11:24 PM

Re: Volume level problem with aftermarket headunit
 
I'm sending the line level input into the PAC adapter which is converting it to a signal the CAN bus can read which is going to the factory amplifier.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community