Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f198/)
-   -   Advice on poly-bushes on a 2003 2.7 CRD (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f198/advice-on-poly-bushes-on-a-2003-2-7-crd-54218.html)

rtz62 02-04-2013 06:10 AM

Advice on poly-bushes on a 2003 2.7 CRD

Hi,

Ive done a quick search but can't find the answer Im looking for (and if it is there, please forgive me, as Im a newbie!)

Basically I have a 2003 Grand Cherokee 2.7CRD.

The vehicle had a rear-end 'shimmy' when driving over transverse ridges in the road, and I have had both rear shocks replaced as well as anti-roll (sway) bar links, which has tightened it up no end.

I'm thinking of replacing nearly all the suspension parts that have bushes and wondered if anyone has experience of having them (yes, I know they increase nolise and harshness) including difficulty of fitting etc.
I am in England, and am looking at SuperPro, PowerFlex or similar.

Thanks in anticipation.

rtz62 02-05-2013 05:00 AM

Re: Advice on poly-bushes on a 2003 2.7 CRD

Anyone?

Carlos Brown 02-06-2013 10:55 AM

Rtz62,

I have replaced all of the bushings on my 2002 Grand Cherokee and it has helped quite a bit. The only place I have used poly bushings so far is for the swaybar frame mounts. I am also using Heim Joints on the rear upper A-arm along with a Flex-Joint at the center mount. All of the other articulating bushings have been replaced with solid bushings, which have helped the ride quality quite a bit...

Poly bushing generally help to stiffen the suspension, but they often times squeak, which makes them undesireable in certain applications.

You may want to replace a couple of worn bushings with new rubber units. It will make a great difference. There are several articulating bushings included with the rear suspension. If "one" or "more" goes bad the ride quality deteriorates pretty rapidly.