Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   SERVICE 4WD SYSTEM Notice (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/service-4wd-system-notice-54461.html)

DustyOne 02-08-2013 12:30 PM

SERVICE 4WD SYSTEM Notice

I am new to Jeeps. 2010 GC Limited 5.7 Hemi 80,000 miles.

Yesterday with no symptoms, and no other indications, this notice appeared. Normal driving and no off road driving and it just came on.

Two weeks ago I had all fluids changed in transfer case, differentials, engine oil etc. I thought this would prepare me for the future ... then this notice.

Question: Local dealer wants $175.00 to diagnose ... then quote repairs. I have read sometimes this is simply a need to re-flash the control module.

Not knowing Jeeps, I am fearful of either large cost or an aggressive dealer.

Any thoughts about how to know if it is a big deal without great cost?

Potential reasons for this notice?

Any thoughts are welcome.

Dusty

Triplecrown 02-08-2013 12:53 PM

Re: SERVICE 4WD SYSTEM Notice

The $175 is not too bad, if they're willing to include it in the final bill. If you end up not having them do the work, they want to be paid for their time and overhead. (They still have to pay the technician). The $175 is a bit high for a normal diagnosis, but when it comes to transmissions and 4x4 systems, sometimes they have to take a 'closer' look at things which entails more time.

In your case, the technician may go over every harness, every wire, checking for shorts, proper voltage, and using a scan device that can narrow things down compared to a scan tool you borrow from AutoZone.

Some people prefer dealerships, some don't because they have a reputation at being much higher in price, although I have found that not to be true in all cases.