Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/replacement-speedo-definitive-answer-needed-55155.html)

Mr. Boh 02-21-2013 11:18 AM

Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
So the speedometer needle on my '05 has fallen below 0. Going try and see if it is possible to reset it or not. If that fails would like to get a used one. From what I've read here, the best bet is to get another from an '05. Question is, since the mileage won't match, will I get any error codes? Also, does it have to be a speedo from a 3.7L, which I have, or will one from a 4.7L or 5.7L work as well?

Hacksaw 02-21-2013 12:03 PM

There is a procedure called "gauge self test" that involves a key cycle and pushing the odo/trip button. That may reset it

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

Mr. Boh 02-21-2013 12:28 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
Is there a write up somewhere for such procedure?

paroxysym 02-21-2013 01:08 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
i dont think the mileage will be a factory as that info is storeD. I know when i disconnected the speedo/dash in my 05 dodge, as soon as i plugged it back in- all my information was still accurate.

Scottina06 02-21-2013 01:08 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
the miles would have to be programmed by the dealer as mileage is stored in the speedo/cluster. Any speedo from an 05-06 3.7 or 4.7 will work for you. Just make sure it has similar options

Scottina06 02-21-2013 01:10 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
check out car-part.com...there are probably hundreds on there and you may get lucky and find one with similar mileage

Mr. Boh 02-21-2013 01:32 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
I can live with the mileage mismatch, as long as no codes are thrown.

Hacksaw 02-21-2013 01:48 PM

I think you turn the key to on not running and press and hold the odo/trip button all the gauges should go through self test and the odo should go through all 1's 2's etc through 0's

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

Mr. Boh 02-21-2013 03:37 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
Cool, I'll give it a try.

Mr. Boh 02-22-2013 01:38 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
Am I missing something but the WK does not have an ODO button to push.

Hacksaw 02-22-2013 03:37 PM

How do you reset the trip odometer ? Try turning the key to run and pushing whatever button you push to reset it.

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

Mr. Boh 02-22-2013 07:34 PM

Re: Replacement Speedo - Definitive Answer Needed
 
You reset the trip odo thru the EVIC using the step buttion to get the trip miles then hitting reset...I'll try the reset button and see if that does anything.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community