Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Off Road Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f42/)
-   -   Wj or wk (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f42/wj-or-wk-55251.html)

C-Ron 02-22-2013 06:28 PM

Wj or wk

I've been looking into getting either a Wj or Wk for a few months now but can't seem to make up my mind. I like that the wj has so many suspension options available and I would like to do a long arm suspension, but I also like the wk bc of the hemi option, QD2, and the interior is obviously less dated. Another thing is that i cant find a long arm kit for the wk. I'm no jeep expert so any facts, opinions, pros/cons you can throw my way will be much appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Lucas J 02-22-2013 06:44 PM

Re: Wj or wk

If you want it for strictly off road, the WJ is the way to go because of the all the suspension options and the SFA.
The WK, which I love, is IFS and the aftermarket support sucks. You are not going to find any long arm kits for the WK (at least now). Just an overpriced lift from JBA, the Superlift and few BB.
If you are looking for a daily driver that you can wheel on weekends and such the WK with a 4 inch Superlift and some 33's will suit you just fine. Plus as you mentioned with the WK you can get the Hemi and QDII. Which are both amazing.

C-Ron 02-22-2013 07:01 PM

It wont be a daily driver although i want the wife to feel comfortable driving it in bad weather bc her daily driver isn't awd. I'm leaning toward the wk with the 4' super lift, but I'm not sure how that will ride down washboard roads or how difficult of a trail it could handle. I could be wrong but wouldn't the wj with a long arm suspension be smoother at high speeds on rough trials?

Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Bikemobile 02-22-2013 07:17 PM

Sounds to me like you need a 4door wrangler.

C-Ron 02-22-2013 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bikemobile (Post 765635)