Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Amp Install (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/amp-install-55592.html)

cfleming2226 02-28-2013 10:54 AM

Amp Install
 
Hi All -

Just received my JL stealth box ... WooHoo

Few quick questions:

1. When running the power line for the amp, where is the easiest/best place to run through the fire wall?

2. If you have an amp installed, where did you mount (using Fosgate P700-1BD)?

3. Where did you run the remote wire to (I was thinking of using the power outlet in back) ?

4. Running a high end converter, did you just tap in off the stock sub line?

Thanks !

eibyer 02-28-2013 10:58 AM

Re: Amp Install
 
The battery is under the seat so you're not going through the firewall (that much I know LOL). I just realized you're in AZ, I'd like to check out that stealthbox when you get it installed :)

cfleming2226 02-28-2013 11:08 AM

Re: Amp Install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eibyer (Post 769693)
The battery is under the seat so you're not going through the firewall (that much I know LOL). I just realized you're in AZ, I'd like to check out that stealthbox when you get it installed :)

No $hit! I had no idea battery was under the seat... makes that a bit easier ... i think! Gladly, also installing Lockpick ... we will see how it all goes

Madanio24 02-28-2013 12:30 PM

Re: Amp Install
 
Your remote wire should go to a 12v shiwtched power source. I have done a few installas on hondas using a LOC and i taped into the switched cigarette lighter which turns on with the key in the on position. I think the back cig lighter stays on all the tiem so that will not be an option. For the line out converter you should be able to tap into the sub line or you can use a normal speaker line if they are recieving full range signal

RageOfFury 02-28-2013 04:35 PM

Re: Amp Install
 
cfleming2226 do you have the 6 or 9 speaker setup?

cfleming2226 03-01-2013 10:41 AM

Re: Amp Install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RageOfFury (Post 769915)
cfleming2226 do you have the 6 or 9 speaker setup?

9 speaker

Break20 03-01-2013 11:15 AM

Don't forget an inline fuse at the battery. Also hook into an accessory at the fuse box for yor remote. Not sure how your factory stuff is set up but also make sure you run your rca's and power on opposite sides of the car to avoid noise distortion.

RageOfFury 03-01-2013 05:10 PM

Re: Amp Install
 
Hmmm I don't have any experiencing tapping into the "Alpine" 9-speaker system. Sorry.

subbie09 03-01-2013 05:16 PM

For a full range signal to the converter you must tap the tweeters, front doors, and and sub. That will give you a full range.

jhedman2 08-28-2013 12:08 AM

Re: Amp Install
 
so how do you like the stealthbox? i'm considering one just because they are so clean, but car toys says they will build one basically identical for $470 and i already have a 10w3 from my previous WK. The stealthboxes are great but man are they pricey and JL won't sell them without a driver. (DUMB). Was it worth it over the stock system?

subbie09 08-28-2013 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jhedman2 (Post 883708)
so how do you like the stealthbox? i'm considering one just because they are so clean, but car toys says they will build one basically identical for $470 and i already have a 10w3 from my previous WK. The stealthboxes are great but man are they pricey and JL won't sell them without a driver. (DUMB). Was it worth it over the stock system?

Love it. I love it so much I upgraded my headunit too and now have a clear direct signal. The stealthbox sq is amazing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community